3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

2002 5.9L intermittant sputter

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-2013, 11:31 AM
sammygee
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2002 5.9L intermittant sputter

so i'm new to the Ram family, just purchased a clean used 2002 with reasonable milage at a great price, the engine and trans feel and sound strong, a few cosmetic issues, a couple dings and dangs, a few minor issues that i was fully aware of, (as any used truck at a "great" price will have), but the one thing i can't put my finger on is this intermittant sputter... i've searched the search engines, this site and others, and can't seem to find anything that really hits my problem specifically, and before i start trying this and that and everything else, i wanted to ask to see if any Ram (experts) may be familiar with this issue...

so, it's a 2002 4x4 full 4 door crew 5.9L 1500.....

when it sits for a bit and i start her up, she'll start strong but then begin to lose power and sputter, with little to no throttle response, and if it actually happens while driving there's a "clanking" sound in the front end... sometimes i can gas through it, and it corrects itself, other times i can't and have to pull over...

if i shut her off and restart, the problem is gone and she runs like a champ, that is, until she sits for a while again, then it starts all over...

so now when i go somewhere, i just try to start her early and let her idle for a while until it starts sputtering (rather then have it happen while driving), and then shut her off, restart her, and drive...

has anyone else encountered this or is anyone familiar with this to direct me where to possible look first to correct it? a PCV valve maybe?

thanks.

Last edited by sammygee; 05-19-2013 at 11:35 AM.
Old 05-20-2013, 02:37 AM