3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

New to Dodge. The PCV valve (R side) what is on (L side) Valve cover on 5.9L?

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2015, 05:14 PM
Black02CrCb
Professional
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to Dodge. The PCV valve (R side) what is on (L side) Valve cover on 5.9L?

It seems a mystery why Dodge would put a PCV valve on the right valve cover that feeds into the upper intake plenum and on the left a straight elbow that feeds into the air intake tube.. WTFover?

I know I am not an engineer for Dodge, but why did they do this? What is the reason for this instead of somehow (2) PCV valves into one and into the intake or???

Anyone redirected the two and dumped it into the air intake tube blocking off the intake plenum hole?? I don't get their logic in doing this.

Again I am new to Dodge and this seems very weird to me.

Thoughts or musings on this? Please post and help me expand my brainpan.

-Nathan

Old 12-06-2015, 09:44 PM
Black02CrCb
Professional

Okay I found out it is the "breather valve" and I ordered it. Got it of FleBay for $4.80 +free shipping.

Mopar Part Number: 53030497

I will do a write up on it (yes I know it is really nothing.. but a newb like me )

Will update once I get it in.

Old 12-07-2015, 09:49 AM
OpethSlayer

I think one is pcv and the other is a crank case breather.

Old 12-08-2015, 01:23 AM
Black02CrCb
Professional

Originally Posted by OpethSlayer
I think one is pcv and the other is a crank case breather.
Yeah the left side (passenger side) is the breather and right side (driver) is the PCV valve.

Thanks my man. Hey is there anything in the breather valve or is it just a nylon elbow macaroni 90deg bend??

Old 12-08-2015, 05:59 AM
SmokinJoe02
Veteran