2008 3500 6.7L turbo problem - DodgeForum.com

Go Back  DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 3rd Gen Ram Tech
Reload this Page > 2008 3500 6.7L turbo problem
Notices
3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

2008 3500 6.7L turbo problem

Reply

 
 
  #1  
Old 09-26-2017, 03:42 PM
ritchie65
ritchie65 is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 6
Default HELP!!! 2008 3500 6.7L turbo problem

Hello all, I'm in a big bind, I had my turbo re-built and after I installed it, it thru a p2262 code (turbo super charger boost pressure not detected.) I did a EGR valve and cooler clean also, so the re-build guy told me to bring it back and he would check it. said everything fine but changed actuator for my peace of mind. well long story short I've had the turbo out 4 times now with that same code. I'm at my wits end and on the verge of a nervous break down. lol. obviously it seems to be something else can anybody help please.
Thanks Ritchie
 

Last edited by ritchie65; 09-26-2017 at 03:51 PM. Reason: add text
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-26-2017, 03:50 PM
jkeaton's Avatar
jkeaton
jkeaton is online now
Site Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Winston Salem, NC
Posts: 20,741
Default

What was the issue before the rebuild?
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-26-2017, 03:58 PM
ritchie65
ritchie65 is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 6
Default

It had a CEL I forgot what the code was, but dealer said that they could clean it but they wouldn't guarantee how long it would last, so they said to have turbo re built.
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-26-2017, 05:16 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 45,457
Default

Was the new actuator programmed to the truck?
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-26-2017, 05:36 PM
ritchie65
ritchie65 is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 6
Default

Yes it was. the truck ran for about 1 week, each time the turbo was re installed before the CEL came on.
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-26-2017, 05:44 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 45,457
Default

Check the wiring between the module, and the PCM. A poor connection on one wire can cause all sorts of problems.
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-26-2017, 05:59 PM
ritchie65
ritchie65 is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 6
Default

I didn't see anything loose, connections seem to be good. No rub marks on any wires.
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-26-2017, 06:02 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 45,457
Default

Check the PCM end as well.....

Aside from that, I would be tempted to warranty replace the actuator and such again. Also need to verify that the parts that are supposed to move, actually can....
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-26-2017, 06:04 PM
ritchie65
ritchie65 is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 6
Default

The last time it happened, I took it to a diesel mechanic. It drove fine their but when I picked it up the truck had no power. they said turbo was running at 20% after their test. had to limp it home.
 
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-26-2017, 06:09 PM
ritchie65
ritchie65 is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 6
Default

The actuator has been replaced three times already.
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Get repairs made easy
Print and online manuals

Find manuals

Featured Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:31 PM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: