Homelink garage door opener... - DodgeForum.com

Go Back  DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 3rd Gen Ram Tech
Reload this Page >

Homelink garage door opener...

3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.
Old 08-06-2015, 01:57 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:

Browse all: Specifications & General Maintenance
Print Wikipost

Homelink garage door opener...

  #1  
Old 10-02-2006, 03:50 PM
steve05ram360
steve05ram360 is offline
Hall Of Fame
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 12,145
Default Homelink garage door opener...

has anyone added the setup to their truck? should have had to install the controller and the new bezel for the overhead computer...

I'm looking to add one to my truck...

what did you have to do to get it to work?
 
  #2  
Old 10-03-2006, 11:51 AM
motorhead426
motorhead426 is offline
All Star
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 878
Default RE: Homelink garage door opener...

I've got the buttons in my truck, and have tried and tried to program the stupid thing. Needless to say I've never been able to get it to work. I even asked the guys at the dealer that I usde to work with, and they have had the same luck. So I just gave up and said "screw it"
 
  #3  
Old 10-03-2006, 12:02 PM
turbot_bird's Avatar
turbot_bird
turbot_bird is offline
Record Breaker
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Winter Garden, Fl
Posts: 2,147
Default RE: Homelink garage door opener...

I got mine to work. It took a while though.
 
  #4  
Old 10-03-2006, 01:46 PM
steve05ram360
steve05ram360 is offline
Hall Of Fame
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 12,145
Default RE: Homelink garage door opener...

there are instructions floating around on one of the forums... I did a search for dodge ram, homelink and found it so it might be good to give it another shot.

I'm still looking for someone who's added it.
 
  #5  
Old 10-03-2006, 08:04 PM
osteodoc08
osteodoc08 is offline
Record Breaker
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 2,192
Default RE: Homelink garage door opener...


ORIGINAL: motorhead426

I've got the buttons in my truck, and have tried and tried to program the stupid thing. Needless to say I've never been able to get it to work. I even asked the guys at the dealer that I usde to work with, and they have had the same luck. So I just gave up and said "screw it"
All of them are basically the same. Press the 1 and 3 buttons until it flashes. Mash the garage door opener button and the button you want to program and hold. Then go and look at the back of the garage door opener and find a learn button. Mash the button and within 20-30 seconds mash the regular garage door opener and the vehicle home link button to finish programming it. At least that is how they work on my wife's new Jeep and my now VW.
 
  #6  
Old 10-08-2006, 05:07 PM
squirtbottle09
squirtbottle09 is offline
Record Breaker
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location:
Posts: 1,733
Default RE: Homelink garage door opener...

Go to the Homelink website and get the number for customer support. It might be in the onwers manual but I cant remember. I have an older model garage door opener and I couldnt get it to work for love nor money. I called the number and I had it working on the toyota and on the Ram within minutes.
 
  #7  
Old 10-10-2006, 07:44 PM
CBRRAT
CBRRAT is offline
Join Date: May 2006
Location:
Posts: 22
Default RE: Homelink garage door opener...

There are detailed instructions on www.homelink.com
 
  #8  
Old 11-20-2008, 08:56 PM
redd7
redd7 is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Utah
Posts: 1
Smile

Go to the post above by osteodoc08. The directions in the manual are correct, but if you are ADD like me you don't read both pages together. osteodoc condenses it into directions that even I can follow. Thanks osteodoc
 
  #9  
Old 11-21-2008, 10:33 AM
Tizi's Avatar
Tizi
Tizi is offline
Professional
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: WA
Posts: 167
Default

I read my manual, followed it and mine works fine. I have 2 different doors programmed into it. I really like it.
 
  #10  
Old 11-21-2008, 10:46 AM
codiac
codiac is offline
Professional
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 116
Default

Not trying to hijack, but does anyone know if you can disable Homelink when the key is not in the ignition? My truck sits outside, but I'd still like to program it to open the door. I don't want it to work when the key isn't in there, as it is like a free pass to open my garage....but it would be nice when I pull in to open the garage. Can the dealer do this?
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Homelink garage door opener...


Featured Sponsors

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: