4th Gen RAM general discussion/NON-tech This section is for general discussions about your 4th gen RAM. Non tech related RAM threads belong here.

2012 Ram 2500 Hemi Owners

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2011, 10:59 PM
wyo2track
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2012 Ram 2500 Hemi Owners

Hey out there, I'm a newbie here!! Wondering if there are any 2012 Ram 2500 Hemi owners out there? How do you like the 6 speed transmission? Any comparison to older Dodge Ram Hemi's performance would be great. I'm chuggin' along on my 11 year with a Dodge Ram 2500 5.9L Cummins extended cab that is getting a little crowded. Been lookin' at the new Rams with the Hemi; sure are nice. Any first hand info would be great.

Old 12-20-2011, 11:58 AM
evan4434
Professional

Having owned many 5.9 cummins and one 6.7 I can say the 5.9 are great motors, and good trucks.

I now have a 5.7 2500 2009, so it is not a 2012 but it shares the same vvt motor and still has the 5 speed auto.

My 6.7 cummins was a nightmare, and had a ton of issues. Where as my 2009 hemi has had zero issues so far. One thing you will miss about your 5.9 is the mpg I could get 18 - 20 mpg easy on my 5.9. My hemi gets about 13 - 14 mpg in the winter right now and about 15 - 16 mpg in the summer. Pulling about 8k it gets about 10 - 12 mpg. If you are going to pull over 10K lbs I would get another diesel maybe a newer 5.9. I could not recommend any of the newer diesel to anyone. With the price of diesel fuel now, and they all get less mpg then they use to thanks to the EPA. I cannot see buying any newer diesel unless you could not find a 2003 - 2007 5.9 cummins.

I think if you are not pulling over 10K lbs you would love a 2012 hemi with the 6 speed. I wish I had that 6 speed in my 2009.

Old 12-20-2011, 12:30 PM
Nate769
All Star
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by evan4434
Having owned many 5.9 cummins and one 6.7 I can say the 5.9 are great motors, and good trucks.