4th Gen Ram Tech 2009 - 2018 Rams and the 2019 Ram Classic: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2009 - 2018 Rams and the 2019 Ram Classic. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Questions for folks familar with stereo/speaker upgrades??

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2009, 11:14 AM
phatjoe
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Questions for folks familar with stereo/speaker upgrades??

Hello:

I've got the standard 6 speaker stereo system in my ram 1500. I'm looking to upgrade the speakers, and potentially the stereo. I'm not looking for a 1000watt system, just something that will sounds a bit better. I'm also relatively new to speakers/stereos.

1) I've heard that sound quality has very little to do with the stereo, that it's really dependent on the speakers. Is that true?

2) If I was to replace the stereo, will the steering wheel controls continue to work?

3) I plan on buying 6" speakers (front/rear) from Crutchfield. Is it difficult to remove the door panels from the ram? I just don't want to be in a situation were I screw it up, and there is rattling/vibrations etc because I didn't put the piece back properly.

4) Is it difficult to replace the stereo? Any lessons learned that you can share?

I know these are basic questions, but I'm new to stereos/speakers

THANKS!

Old 08-08-2009, 02:45 PM
Doc Fluty
Banned

1. wrong... its all a team.. you get a $1000 head unit and speakers and get a crappy amp... you will notice. just like if you got a 600 hp engice but skinny crappy tires... at slow speeds you might be ok.. but once you push it to where you want it to be.. it will not turn out so well

2. prolly not.. I'm sure you can custom fab something.. but it will cost and still might not work.

3. no just screws... and the rattling (if there is any) can be cured with dynamat or spray noise killer