Radio hdd issue - DodgeForum.com

Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification. Let's hear about it here.

Radio hdd issue

  #1  
Old 08-20-2018, 03:36 PM
Phillip Fisher
Phillip Fisher is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 4
Default Radio hdd issue

So I have an 09 1500 Laramie crew cab and the radio randomly freezes and resets. After messing with it a bit it seems to freeze when Iím trying to access music on the hdd. I can access pictures all day long though it seems a little slow to load sometimes. I have at least one song 100% for sure on the hdd. It showed up a few times but if I try to play it again it freezes and resets. I thought maybe the hard drive went out but I can access the photos on it and I can see the size and how much memory is left to use. Any idea what I need to do?
 
  #2  
Old 08-20-2018, 09:45 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 55,574
Default

Any way to test the hard drive?
 
  #3  
Old 08-21-2018, 05:27 AM
Phillip Fisher
Phillip Fisher is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 4
Default

Not that I know of.
 
  #4  
Old 08-21-2018, 09:53 AM
ZEN357's Avatar
ZEN357
ZEN357 is offline
Veteran
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 264
Default

Being in the I.T. Field for over 25 years, it's sounds to me as if the hard drive has a bad place in it and it is going bad. Even solid state drive will go bad eventually. I would say you are going to have to have it replaced.
 
  #5  
Old 08-21-2018, 11:43 AM
Phillip Fisher
Phillip Fisher is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 4
Default

Originally Posted by ZEN357 View Post
Being in the I.T. Field for over 25 years, it's sounds to me as if the hard drive has a bad place in it and it is going bad. Even solid state drive will go bad eventually. I would say you are going to have to have it replaced.
OK thanks! Thatís kinda what I was leaning towards doing but didnít want to buy a new one if it was a software issue.
 
  #6  
Old 08-25-2018, 12:38 PM
ultrasuperman
ultrasuperman is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 4
Default

If it's a SATA HDD/SSD like what's in your computer you can test it with a program called HD Tune but I so know in some models the memory unit (like in my RB5 unit) is a proprietary SanDisk Flash unit
 
  #7  
Old 08-25-2018, 01:04 PM
Phillip Fisher
Phillip Fisher is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 4
Default

Ok got the new hdd installed and that seems to have fixed all the problems Iíve had. Thanks again for the advice!!
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Radio hdd issue


Featured Sponsors

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: