Dodge Caliber The new sporty Dodge Caliber is a hatchback that replaces the Dodge Neon. The Dodge Caliber is here to stay!

Installing Factory Navigation Radio and Uconnect in my Caliber SXT

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2006, 01:14 AM
rcompart
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Installing Factory Navigation Radio and Uconnect in my Caliber SXT

Ok, so i just bought a new Caliber SXT on Monday(4/17) and had to bring it in for service 4 days later on Friday for the climate controls. They didn't change where the air came from(defrost, vent, floor) and so as they had it tor apart, I had an epiphany. Why not ditch the cubby hole under the radio and install the navigation radio in there. It can't be too hard could it. I know they don't offer it as an option but hey, I used to work in the auto electronics field for a better part of my late teens and so I'm gonna take a stab at it. I figured that since the bezel is silver it will be cake matching the color and if all else fails, I'll just repaint the shift bezel too. Thinking that if I'm gonna go for the UConnect as I was goign to do the second I got all the parts, I'll kill both birds with one stone and only have to tear my dash apart once. I will be documenting this the best I can so anyone else that chooses to do this mod will have a base to start with. First things first, I needed an REC. Not buying one from dealer as they will charge you $2500-$2750 depending on who you know and how much business you do with them. Not for me. It's off to find a slavage/repairable to garner our parts from. A 300 is the best place to look these parts as most of the time if you find one that has the nav radio, it will also have the UConnect. For me it was no dice as some one else beat me to it.(I swear to god someone is hording these things as I've found three and they are all missing the modules) I just ordered the harnesses from eBay to make the UConnect work. JAAK put together a really good write-up on installing it on LXForums. Tha