Transmission input/output speed sensors - DodgeForum.com

Go Back  DodgeForum.com > Dodge Vans & CUVs > Dodge Caravan
Reload this Page > Transmission input/output speed sensors
Dodge Caravan The Dodge Caravan is the best selling mini van from Dodge. How many Dodge Caravan owners here at DodgeForum.com would agree? Discuss it now!

Transmission input/output speed sensors

Reply

 
 
  #1  
Old 10-11-2010, 10:45 AM
moereece
moereece is offline
Amateur
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 25
Default Transmission input/output speed sensors

Where are the input/out speed sensors located on an 02 Dodge Grand Caravan EX and is it easy to replace. I'm no automotive specialist by mechanically and extermely common sense inclined. Can I replace myself and is there anything else that I would need to do besides swap out parts?
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-11-2010, 04:10 PM
mfahey
mfahey is offline
Veteran
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Morris, Illinois
Posts: 346
Default

Input sensor
REMOVAL
Disconnect battery negative cable.
If necessary, disconnect and cap off transmission oil cooler lines.
Disconnect input speed sensor connector.
Unscrew and remove input speed sensor.
Inspect speed sensor O-ring and replace if necessary.
INSTALLATION
Verify O-ring is installed into position.
Install and tighten input speed sensor to27 Nm (20 ft. lbs.) .
Connect speed sensor connector.
Connect battery negative cable.
Look to the right of the transmission fluid dipstick and the sensor is located just below the cooler lines.
The output sensor removal and replacement is exactly the same. I'm assuming that it's on the back side of the transmission where the differential is.
Alldata shows that it is a 1/2 job for each sensor.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-11-2010, 04:17 PM
moereece
moereece is offline
Amateur
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 25
Default

Thanks much. I have replaced both sensors. Now speed ometer does not respond and shifting is still the same? Can't tell how fast i'm going. Does this tie in to changing the sensors? It was functional before I disconnected the battery. Any help would be appreciated.
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-11-2010, 11:33 PM
master tech's Avatar
master tech
master tech is offline
Site Moderator & Tech
Dodge Forum Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Bruno ,Ca
Posts: 10,847
Default

Ck the wires going to the output sensor. Pull on them,cause the wires are to short and break in time. If the wire comes out you found the problem. Then post me back and i'll tell how to make the repairs.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-20-2010, 07:09 AM
moereece
moereece is offline
Amateur
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 25
Default

Wiring not too short and looks good. No sign of damage to wiring. Any other ideas on this.
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-20-2010, 11:44 PM
master tech's Avatar
master tech
master tech is offline
Site Moderator & Tech
Dodge Forum Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Bruno ,Ca
Posts: 10,847
Default

Did you pull on the output sensor wires?
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-25-2012, 09:29 PM
manntis
manntis is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Posts: 23
Default

are the wiring repairs simple? Are they on the pigtail side or sensor side? I'm about to drive 1.5 hours tomorrow to get a Caravan with no speedo, no shifting out of "1st" (though it may be 2nd) and the guy says it needs a new speed sensor. I'm thinking it may be a loose wire.

edit: I just noticed this is a 2010 thread. Apologies for exhuming it. Any info would still be appreciated.
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-25-2012, 11:26 PM
master tech's Avatar
master tech
master tech is offline
Site Moderator & Tech
Dodge Forum Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Bruno ,Ca
Posts: 10,847
Default

You can try replacing the output sensor 1st and see if the speedometer is working.
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-28-2012, 01:08 PM
manntis
manntis is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Posts: 23
Default

Output sensor replaced - all the PRND3L boxes are outlined, brake and ABS lights stay on, speedo & odometer not working.

I checked the pigtail going to the OSS. The wires seem secure.
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
stonernate
Dodge Neon
1
02-07-2016 04:02 PM
HappyDodger
3rd Gen Ram Tech
2
07-15-2015 04:20 PM
johncrawford1
Dodge/Ram Diesel
0
07-14-2015 10:08 AM
eagle101
2nd Gen Ram Tech
2
07-12-2015 10:43 AM
colons3499
Dodge Neon
0
07-09-2015 03:57 PM

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Featured Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:38 PM.