Dodge Caravan The Dodge Caravan is the best selling mini van from Dodge. How many Dodge Caravan owners here at DodgeForum.com would agree? Discuss it now!

Brake Bleeding Promblem????

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2011, 08:41 PM
Nailbender
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Brake Bleeding Promblem????

I am new to DF, So here we go! I have a 1999 Caravan with a 3.3 I use for a winter rat. I needed to replace the BrakeLines from the Master Cylinder to the Hydraulic Control Unit,This was no promble at all.
After doing so I went to bleed the brake system,Starting with the passenger rear first. We were able to pump new fluid threw it as you would any other car. Now going to the Driverside rear wheel the pedal started showing signs of getting extremly hard to pump and after taking the bleeder screw out all the way, NO fluid would come out. Not sure what is going on, I moved to the driverside frontwheel, no fluid coming out and the brake pedal is rock hard and no brakes! Now going to the book,It tells me a DRBII Scan tool is needed to now bleed the lines. What dose this tool do?The few repair shops I talked to have no idea what Iam taking about,never heard of such a thing and don't have a Tech that knows what to do. Any ideas? or how to get around this. I can't drive the van, NO Brakes

Old 08-15-2011, 08:45 PM
steak59
Record Breaker
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

I don't think the problem will be ur HCU.
You probably Kink some of the brake lines u installed. Disconnect the brake lines u did on the HCU, pump the pedal or just fill up the fluid bottle, see if brake fluid squirts out. You want to figure out if the problem is before or after the HCU first.

Old 08-16-2011, 12:07 AM
master tech
Site Moderator & Tech
Dodge Forum Moderator
Received 96 Likes on 81 Posts

Welcome to DF
Try this first and yes you need a scan tool to bleed the ABS.
PROPORTIONING VALVE
A vehicle equipped with ABS uses a fixed proportioning valve.