Dodge Caravan The Dodge Caravan is the best selling mini van from Dodge. How many Dodge Caravan owners here at DodgeForum.com would agree? Discuss it now!

P0420 after replacing Cat and both O2

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2012, 08:37 AM
ajcasper
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default P0420 after replacing Cat and both O2

Hi folks, I'm a mechanic that is banging my head against a wall with two 2006 minivans. Both with 3.8L one a Grand Caravan and the other a Town and County. Replaced Catalytic Converter on both and replaced both (upstream and downstream) O2 sensors with NGK O2 sensors on both vans. I'm stumped with this one. Code comes back on both vans all the time. So much so that the Grand Caravan has the code set on the scanner but check engine light has become randomly on and off.

Anyone else out there seen this with the 06? or at all? I have no idea what to do on these and the dealer is being no help at all.

Thank you in advance,
ajcasper

Old 01-05-2012, 08:53 AM
TurboStixx
Captain
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

a P0240 means Catalytic Converter is below threshold.

I have learned in my experience, there is nothing you can do when this code pops up EXCEPT to replace the CAT, I just went through the exact samething in my Honda, did you put a new cat on each or did you go to the jy and pick one up?

Old 01-05-2012, 09:27 AM
Tizzy1
Champion
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

The PCM determines the cat is bad by the rate of cycle of the downstream O2 sensor. When the downstream O2 mirrors the upstream O2 it sets the code. How does the O2 sensors compare when the vehicle is warm?

Old 01-06-2012, 09:16 AM
ajcasper

cats are only about 2 months old. o2 sensor graphs look fine according to snap-on solus scanner

Old 01-06-2012, 11:44 AM
Tizzy1
Champion

an exhaust leak before the cat can also cause that issue

Old 01-06-2012, 10:20 PM
ajcasper