Dodge Caravan The Dodge Caravan is the best selling mini van from Dodge. How many Dodge Caravan owners here at DodgeForum.com would agree? Discuss it now!

A/C warm on drivers side

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2012, 10:48 PM
mayorchuck
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A/C warm on drivers side

2001 Dodge Caravan 6 cyl Front Wheel Drive Automatic 100000 miles

Hi folks. I am trying to help a friend fix her van. She has MS, daughter on chemo and although I am a backyard mechanic at best, she can't afford any better. The problem is this:
The van has Dual Air/Heat control. The passenger side works fine but the drivers side is at least 20 degrees cooler. This is the same for both front and back. I tried using dash, floor and defrost vents with same issue. The Drivers switch/slide appears to be ok as when I move it to heat, the air warms as it should.
I found a service bulletin about this and it told how to calibrate and said it would identify the problem with a code if there was an issue. I ran the test as stated and it cycled through everything and then stopped with no flashing lights indicating no failure were found in the actuator motors. I have found other service bulletins on 'no heat' issues on the passenger side with instructions on what to check but I don't know if that would apply to this issue. I simply have very little knowledge of the working of these HVAC systems.

I removed the cover where the cabin filter would be. There was no filter there but the air was very warm coming from this opening. Perhaps this is normal. It was not as warm on recirculate but still warm.

I checked the condenser for moisture. Nothing.