Dodge Caravan The Dodge Caravan is the best selling mini van from Dodge. How many Dodge Caravan owners here at DodgeForum.com would agree? Discuss it now!

2010 caravan rear calipers

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2012, 04:36 PM
CaravanKing
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2010 caravan rear calipers

Hey guys, okay, first off, newbie here obviously and I apologize for the presumtive screen name (I was trying to be cool in front of my dad!) Okay, a little background, I'm a GTO guy that's been working on cars since the early 80's. Dad's 2010 Grand Caravan has had a rough, pulsing brake pedal lately so I told him to bring it over. I pulled it all apart, noticed the crap back brakes so we picked up new pads and rotors. I found out about these screw in caliper cups the hard way but I didn't reef too hard on the C clamp before I researched it and found this site. So, I went, bought the tool and screwed the cups in. Put it all together and thought I was finished. He pumped the pedal out to seat the calipers and all seemed well until we started it up and the pedal sinks to the floor. Exhaustive research as well as dealer service managers telling us to bleed the brakes, there's air in the lines. I say BS on that because we never opened any lines. So, I waste my time bleeding them anyways and no air comes out. Then we start pumping the parking brake because I saw somewhere on line it needs to be readjusted and I was hearing a click when we engaged it. It wasn't working but it was free moving. So after awhile I noticed how far the caliper cup was retracting away from the pads after we released the brake pedal. A good 3/16" gap. So I get the idea to take it all back apart, and unscrew the piston so it's tighter to the pads. Magically, the pedal stopped sinking to the floor and everything's fine now, including the parking brake. Now, on to my question after this long winded preface: Did I damage the "self adjusters" inside these calipers when I first tried compressing them? I