Dodge Caravan The Dodge Caravan is the best selling mini van from Dodge. How many Dodge Caravan owners here at DodgeForum.com would agree? Discuss it now!

[5th Gen : 08+]: 2011 Caravan Remote Start Not Working

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2018, 11:30 AM
Zest
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2011 Caravan Remote Start Not Working

Hey, new member here. I recently purchased a used 2011 Grand Caravan. I discovered after my purchase, by reading the owner's manual that my key fobs have a remote start button. However, when I press it all that happens is that the doors lock and the lights flash.

I contacted the previous owners of the van and they said that it once had remote start functionality but it stopped working and they never bothered to fix it. Any idea what may be the issue here? I'm comfortable dismantling the dashboard and messing with wires and all that jazz if necessary, but I've got no prior experience working with remote starters. If it's possible to do this myself I'd very much like to as I already spent a hefty amount doing some repairs needed to get it certified.

Old 02-18-2018, 11:12 AM
jkeaton
DF Admin
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 335 Likes on 299 Posts

I would start be reading said owners manual to see the conditions that will cause the remote start to not function. Go from there.

Old 02-19-2018, 12:54 PM
Zest

Originally Posted by jkeaton
I would start be reading said owners manual to see the conditions that will cause the remote start to not function. Go from there.
Looking at the manual nothing seems to be wrong. Here's the list of conditions that I see, they all seem pretty common sense:

• Shift lever in PARK (done)
• Doors closed (done)
• Hood closed (done)
• Liftgate closed (done)
• Hazard switch off (done)
• Brake switch inactive (done)
• Ignition key removed from ignition switch (obviously)
Battery at an acceptable charge level (yes)
• RKE PANIC button not pressed (I think I'd know)