Dodge Caravan The Dodge Caravan is the best selling mini van from Dodge. How many Dodge Caravan owners here at DodgeForum.com would agree? Discuss it now!

[5th Gen : 08+]: Should I change my transmission fluid

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2018, 03:48 PM
jammco
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Should I change my transmission fluid

Hello, I'm a novice garage mechanic who loves to learn new things, and I've been progressively doing more and more of my own vehicle maintenance and repair over the last few years. My knowledge is growing, but I have a LOT to learn.

I've only recently directed my attention to understanding drive-train systems as my daughter had Transmission issues and had someone replace hers with a used one... then of course hit a deer and smash the van to where it now rests at a junk yard.

I changed my wife's rear differential fluid on her 2011 Honda CRV last weekend, and it made me realize that in all the time I've owned my 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan 3.3L Flex fuel, which now has 220K miles on it, I've never changed the transmission fluid.

As that hit me, and I began prepping myself for changing the transmission fluid, I can't help but fear that after so long (at least 130K of those miles were mine) is it more of a risk to change it now? Will changing it now make the transmission fail sooner?