Dodge Daytona The G platform cars that are to this day, fun sporty machines that car modding enthusiasts love to get their hands on, the Dodge Daytona and Chrysler Laser.

92 Daytona IROC 3.0 Engine

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2022, 04:41 PM
MikeMort
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 92 Daytona IROC 3.0 Engine

My son has a well preserved Daytona, but the engine just seized. Evidently he ran it out of oil. (no obvious leaks, but no oil). Here's my question. We want to put in a new 6G72 but thought now is a good time to upgrade to a more peppy version than the stock 3.0. My mechanic prefers to just put in stock so he doesn't have to wrestle with extra electrical and adaptor challenges. I'm no mechanic, but what do ya'll recommend? Is there significant effort to swap to a DOHC or turbo version of the 6G72?

Old 09-20-2022, 05:16 PM
HeyYou
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 3,387 Likes on 3,127 Posts

If it has the non-turbo engine now, going to the turbo engine IS an exercise. Would likely need the PCM and wire harness for the turbo engine as well, I don't know if the trans is different....

Old 09-21-2022, 06:47 AM
Moparite
Grand Champion
Received 388 Likes on 365 Posts

V8 and rear wheel drive is the way to go. Of course it is a lot of work but well worth it. I don't like torque steer.

Old 09-21-2022, 03:31 PM
HeyYou
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 3,387 Likes on 3,127 Posts

Yeah, I like that.

The guy laughing as the car pulled away layin' rubber, was just soooo on point. Cracked me up too.

Old 09-28-2022, 12:43 PM
smokesxt
Record Breaker
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

Originally Posted by MikeMort