Dodge Magnum The Dodge Magnum, the wagon that made wagons cool. The unique look of the Dodge Magnum makes any trim level, from SE to SRT-8, an absolute head turner.

PCM Failure---help this mom understand--please

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2006, 08:05 PM
mommasride
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default PCM Failure---help this mom understand--please

Yes--I am a newbie to this forum. I appreciate all the knowledge you all have and have searched here before.

I am a "refuse the minivan" gal that drives my 3 kids around in my "cool vanilla" 05 2.7 Magnum. I love it and have since the moment I fist saw one. I have just over 24K on mine and hope you guys can help w/ my question.

I had the check engine light come on, took it in and they said code 3, engine misfire. Needed to investigate to see if it was the valve or sparkplug or what. Apparently it is the PCM. Tech manager said they had never seen this before on a magnum. I want to know if this is a common thing, and what consequential damage could have been done. Hubby is pressing me to dump the car. (the check engine light was on the moment I drove it off the lot) at 70 miles---said it was a gas cap problem then. I wonder. Any insight would greatly be appreciated by this momma that wants to keep her ride.

Reesa

Old 10-24-2006, 12:09 PM
MyRT
Professional
Default RE: PCM Failure---help this mom understand--please

Welcome to the forum, sorry for your problems. I have not heard of this one yet. I hope the dealer will get it fixed.

Old 10-24-2006, 01:24 PM
Suipsycho

I had an issue with engine misfire as well , the tech at our local dealer suggested I run medium grade or higher fuel as the 87 octane fuel was known to cause this. It has been over amonth with no issues until I forgot and put in 87 fuel again, then more random misfires. If you are using low grade fuel try running medium grade and see.

Best of luck , hope it is something as simple for you as it was for me.

~Suipsycho

Old 10-24-2006, 01:39 PM