Dodge Neon The sport compact car that took the world by storm. the Dodge Neon. Depending on the trim level you get, this sporty ride has something to offer everyone.

What is "throw"

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2005, 03:22 PM
whyte69
Veteran
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What is "throw"

Can anyone define throw for me? What advantage does one shifter provide over another?

I'm having a bit of trouble with my stock shifter, when I shift down to first gear, it has a bit of a tough time getting into position, would this be a problem with the shifter iself or with the bushings? I'm new to manual, but I feel that I've near mastered it, as far as everyday driving goes. I love my neon, I'm now looking for ways to make the experience all that much better.

Old 11-25-2005, 03:39 PM
casper
Legend
Default RE: What is "throw"

Throw is how far you have to move the shifter to go from gear to gear. The shorter the throw the quicker you can shift. I would suggest that you replace the bushings and the shifter. that should fix all your problems.

Old 11-26-2005, 06:45 AM
LowSlowNeon
Grand Champion

When are you shifting down into first? Are you moving? If so...how fast are you going? A short throw shifter is a great investment. It makes driving your car a lot more fun and they aren't that expensive. The bushings are a nice improvement as well and they're relatively cheap. The best way I can describe these is you "know" when you're in the gear and when you're not in the gear. Its like it almost "clicks" when you get it in gear with new bushings (boogers are nice). Have fun!

Old 11-26-2005, 02:25 PM
whyte69
Veteran