Dodge/Ram Diesel Tech Discussions on all generations of Cummins Diesel powered Rams plus the new Eco Diesel

Truck shopping

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-2007, 01:17 AM
anthem ss
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Truck shopping

OK guys & gals, I've been lurking for a few weeks, I'm in the market for a truck & i'm new to Daimler Chrysler Products. I just purchased an '06 300C leftover in march & so far it's been good. I had a '79 Chrysler New yorker Fifth ave. in 1981 but we won't go there.
As for the truck - I'm not a Ford guy so i won't entertain the notion of getting a super Duty, I've shopped GM & Dodge and do admit the GM 2500 HD (new body style) is a nice looking truck but it does "seem" to be pricey & the factory wheel & tire setup they give you is puny. I've always liked the look of the dodge since they did the major redesign in '93, the current version looks good to me. This would be my first NEW pick up & i don't need anything crazy, I wouldn't be towing anything monsterous but maybe a car on a trailer or small camper.It would be my daily driver i would opt for a quad cab/crew cab body and short bed, 2WD is fine as i don't go off roading (or desire to) Now i'm left with the BIG QUESTIONS: Do i opt for the 1500 or the 2500? If i go 2500 - do i opt for the gas or the diesel? What are the big benefits if i go diesel - i know they can go 300K miles w/o needing any major engine work. Is the Hemi strong enough to do the occasional work. AND lastly, if it is diesel - I've driven both 5.9 & 6.7 and i do favor the 6.7, i'm all new to this but i did feel a difference between the two and the 6.7 is a little quieter (wife likes that). Where i live is fairly flat but within 20 miles i can get up to 2500-7000 ft elevations,so that's a concern of mine also.