Dodge/Ram Diesel Tech Discussions on all generations of Cummins Diesel powered Rams plus the new Eco Diesel

Help needed... All input would be greatly appreciated...

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2008, 10:48 AM
steve05ram360
Hall Of Fame
Received 227 Likes on 212 Posts
Default Help needed... All input would be greatly appreciated...

As some of you know I do alot of testing... what you may not know is I'm a test engineer by trade so I can tend to go a little overboard from time to time. However, I want to nail down this ATS vs Stock intake thing to determine where the gains really are and how it will help in different situations (city vs hiway, towing vs everyday driving etc). I'd like to get input from you guys on different points of analysis... one of the ways I've tested mods in the past was to find a hill, start at a known speed at the bottom (rolling start so your in one of the top gears) and floor it till your at the top, then see what the difference is compared to the last setup. with the power of the CTD, that is not practical.

So one thought is to do the same rolling start and bring boost up to 10~15 psi (pick a number) and see where your at when you get to a predetermined point (speed wise)... and measure the time it takes to get there...??? also measuring the egt's on the way...???

Reason I bring this up, after driving with the stock manny now for 3~4 days, the very bottom end (1000 rpm-1400~1500 rpm) seems to have more power than the ATS... beyond that though, the ATS takes over. What this would be pointing to is that the stock manny would be better for city driving while the ATS would be better for everything else.

also, one thing that would be good to have access to is the data on the motor out of the diag port... I believe it'll have the throttle position & speed which could also be used in the evaluation...

what do you guys think?

Old 01-23-2008, 01:21 PM
energinerbuzzy
Banned
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts