Dodge/Ram Diesel Tech Discussions on all generations of Cummins Diesel powered Rams plus the new Eco Diesel

To 6.7 or not to 6.7...

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-2008, 01:22 PM
rumpumpkin
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default To 6.7 or not to 6.7...

...that is the question! Shakespearan qoutes aside, have they fixed most of the issues on these things yet? I've been shopping used for a few years now, and can't seem to find the exact truck I'm looking for. For the record, I'm pretty picky and envision my truck a certain way in terms of color (red or blue), model (3500, QC, SB, SRW), and options (supplemental side-air bags, 4:10, etc). So needless to say I'm probably not a good fit for a used vehicle.

I've read all the forums, and have heard both pros and cons regarding the 6.7. Don't do well with sporadic use or in-town driving (that's me), poor MPG, not open to modifications, etc. Being in California, I don't think removing the DPF and EGR would be a good idea. For most of my needs, a gasser would be fine. However, I tow a 10,000lb travel trailer about 12x year, and also like the better MPG overall when compared to a gasser. I could do without the power upgrades (I have musclecars for that), and could probably stand a few MPGs worse than the 5.9 (just has to be better than a gasser). But what I really don't want is to have my truck in the shop for issues because 90% of my driving is in-town or unloaded.

And the biggest reason for me asking this question now is because the local dealers are knocking about $16k (yes, you read that right) off of 2008 Ram Heavy Duties. That's a $50k Ram, Laramie, 3500, QC, SB going for $34k.

Old 11-16-2008, 02:01 PM
BiggBlu601
Veteran
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts