Dodge/Ram Diesel Tech Discussions on all generations of Cummins Diesel powered Rams plus the new Eco Diesel

Umm... question?

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2005, 05:08 AM
GhettoerkP
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Umm... question?

Hi, I'm new to the whole thing, having recently taken a huge interest in the Cummins. My dad has owned a 2001 Duramax Chevy 2500 and now owns a 2004 Powerstroke Ford F-350. I've driven them both, and thanks to him, I'm in love with the torque and power of trucks and the lovely whistle of a turbo diesel. I don't drive a Dodge yet (nor have I ever), but my dad wants to get me one before I hit college (yes, I'm 17....). We're looking on Ebay and I've found a 2003 Dodge Ram SLT, CTD regular cab (less weight = more speed ) w/ a 4 spd. automatic and 4x4. Sounds like what I want except for the auto tranny (great price too). I've heard that there's a lot of issues with Dodge's automatic and handling all the torque. I also plan to use a superchip or Banks power tuner on it, which will up the strain on the tranny intensely. I talked with a mechanic buddy of mine, and he told me the following about the Dodge:

1. There's been so many issues with the auto trannies. He has a friend who had to take it into the shop 6 times in one year. Something kept failing or breaking... I also hear a lot about slower shifts and rougher gear engagements on the 1990s trannies... Did that continue to the newer ones?
2. The 3.73 axle has issues too. He says I'd be better off going with the 4.?? (can't remember the number off the top of my head). From what I've been reading, the majority seems to swing toward the 3.73. Advantages? Disadvantages?
3. The 6 speed manual is much stronger and would get me better mileage (which is the usual case, seeing as it has more speeds and is of course a manual), but more importantly can handle the torque of stock or aftermarket much better than the auto.