Dodge/Ram Diesel Tech Discussions on all generations of Cummins Diesel powered Rams plus the new Eco Diesel

let's pretend

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2006, 04:06 AM
Barry KC
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default let's pretend

Let's pretend someone with a 2005, 2500 Series CTD attended an antique tractor auction. Posssibly, the muddy field and the heavy trailer caused the driver to put the truck into 4 WD (just the standard electric select 4 WD, not the "auto" version). Perhaps the excitement of NOT spending money at the auction could account for the driver then driving about 300 miles on the Interstate to the next gas station -- where lo and behold -- a little red light showed the truck to be in 4 WD. IF there was a driver dumb enough to have done such a thing, would any damage have been done to the front drive units?

Old 07-09-2006, 05:19 AM
carcrz
Rookie
Default RE: let's pretend

I thought that truck sounded like it was in 4 wheel drive. Just joking. I'm by no means a mechanic, but I am guessing that you will need to change the fluid out at the very least. It is not designed for the high speeds, but would probably sustain them for a good period of time if they were "theoretically" left in 4.

Old 07-09-2006, 05:23 AM
DevilsReject
Noob Assassin

ORIGINAL: Barry KC

Let's pretend someone with a 2005, 2500 Series CTD attended an antique tractor auction. Posssibly, the muddy field and the heavy trailer caused the driver to put the truck into 4 WD (just the standard electric select 4 WD, not the "auto" version). Perhaps the excitement of NOT spending money at the auction could account for the driver then driving about 300 miles on the Interstate to the next gas station -- where lo and behold -- a little red light showed the truck to be in 4 WD. IF there was a driver dumb enough to have done such a thing, would any damage have been done to the front drive units?