Dodge/Ram Diesel Tech Discussions on all generations of Cummins Diesel powered Rams plus the new Eco Diesel

Turbo Timer Diesel

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2007, 11:24 PM
handymanherb
Banned
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Turbo Timer Diesel

Does anyone use one here and what types

I seen some programers come with timers and found some stand alone models, I sit and wait and give it as least a minutes before shuting down.

Timer would let me run in the store and let the truck cool down.

Old 01-08-2007, 12:51 AM
steve05ram360
Hall Of Fame
Received 235 Likes on 218 Posts
Default RE: Turbo Timer Diesel

I have one on my TST... hit a button and waits until the egt's are down below my set level or 4 minutes... which ever comes 1st

Old 01-08-2007, 12:57 AM
Watermelon
Captain

Herb, Im no expert on these trucks at all, but Ive been runnin these trucks for 10 years pullin heavy daily haulin produce to my store and I never let it idle more than three minutes comin off the interstate. Just knockin around I let it go about a minute and Ive been trouble free on 3 CTD"s. If it bugs you about cool down, leave it runnin and use your keyless to keep it cheap.

Old 01-08-2007, 01:19 AM
steve05ram360
Hall Of Fame

also, if you run synthetic oil, it's not a problem at all...

Old 01-08-2007, 02:31 AM
handymanherb
Banned

I bought it with 26000. miles on it and have 30000 on it now and the mileage has improved since I got it so I guess I'm about ready to switch to Amsoil and was thinking of add the bypass filter kit on it too so I can get extended oil drains and still keep the wear down.

I haven't got a keyless fob, I need to order one or I can get an remote start that would work the door locks too andrun for a set time for 50 bucks

Old 01-08-2007, 04:20 AM
sharx ram
Champion