Dodge Ram Van The full size Dodge Ram Van that showed that we can go and do as we please. Discuss the Dodge Ram Van here today.

hvac control help please

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2018, 01:09 AM
roadtrek170
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default hvac control help please

Hi,

I just puchased a Roadtrek 170 ( Dodge Ram Van 2500 ) based van camper, so I am new to Dodge.

I was wondering if anyone has had any experience with faulty HVAC controls? I am not able to use the lever on the right at all ( picture attached ) that controls where the air is supposed to go. It all blows onto the windshield in AC FORWARD mode only, all the other selector position yield no air coming out at all. Any idea of what could fix this strange phenomenon? I checked all the connections, they look fine.

Thank you for your help in advance,

Sergio

Attached Thumbnails hvac control help please-20180124_172412.jpg  
Old 01-25-2018, 02:32 PM
alloro
Van & CUV Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Received 83 Likes on 75 Posts

No vacuum to the selector switch will cause this to happen.

Old 01-25-2018, 08:22 PM
JFloors
Veteran
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

What year van? If you've been searching on this problem you've likely found it isn't so much your control as ( it is either a check valve or vacuum line(s)... ) or both.

On mine, with the motor cover off, look on the passenger side of the intake and you'll see a vacuum port with a couple vac lines, and likely a check valve, then split off by a connector. Follow those lines and elbows... check them good. It seems some year vans the number of lines seem to run slightly different but lead to about center of the firewall. One of them goes in to your hvac control.

I have 3 lines into /out of the firewall. One coming out goes directly to the water valve that's attached to the heater core line in (it's white while the others are black in color) , controls hot water flow when you use max A/C.