Dodge Ram Van The full size Dodge Ram Van that showed that we can go and do as we please. Discuss the Dodge Ram Van here today.

1999 RAM Van 1500 frame replacement

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2020, 01:15 PM
Paul R Nitz
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1999 RAM Van 1500 frame replacement

I have a very low mileage ram of van conversion that the frame is rotted out on. It's in areas that make it impossible to weld. Is anybody reproducing this frame or does anybody know where I could get one from a salvaged vehicle that's in decent condition? I'm in lower Delaware but certainly willing to travel a reasonable distance to get the right part

Old 01-31-2020, 09:54 PM
ElkCon
Veteran
Received 31 Likes on 29 Posts

Im not a body expert, but I don't think that it can be done considering the hybrid frame/unibody structure the van is...
Hopefully, someone knows more.
Maybe cutting the 'frame' portion out and welding it in could work?

Old 02-01-2020, 08:42 AM
HeyYou
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 3,268 Likes on 3,015 Posts

What part of the frame? Can you post pics?

Old 02-02-2020, 07:02 PM
James Siebold
Rookie
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

There was a late model RAM van for sale here in TN where the guy said the frame rotted near the control arm. My 01 seems to have rust in weird places. Normally cars don't rust like this anymore down south. My 84 B150 has very little rust compared to my 01. Were the later models just more sepetible to rust than the earlier models? The later models also seem to rust on the driver's side rocker in the center. Like dirt gets packed in there and the water can't drain.

Old 02-03-2020, 09:59 AM
alloro
Van & CUV Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Received 81 Likes on 74 Posts

Originally Posted by James Siebold
Normally cars don't rust like this anymore down south.
Maybe it came from up north or was in a minor flood.

Old 02-03-2020, 07:05 PM
James Siebold
Rookie
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by alloro