Dodge Ram Van The full size Dodge Ram Van that showed that we can go and do as we please. Discuss the Dodge Ram Van here today.

help with Ram van.

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2021, 10:53 AM
William Hatmaker
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default help with Ram van.

i’m new to dodge. i recently bought a 1 ton b350 ram van. does anyone here know anything about them?? i got a vibration at the passenger rear tire that comes on about 38mph. i put new tires on it but it still vibrates. it slacks off when i get over 40 mph. also got a little slack in steering. i hope i don’t have to take the steering column apart. would rather put a newer column in if that will help. i’m keeping this van forever. love it even if it’s a gas hog😂. thanks for any help you all can give me

Old 05-10-2021, 09:20 AM
HeyYou
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 3,384 Likes on 3,124 Posts

What year is your van? Have you checked out the brakes on the rear??

Old 05-10-2021, 09:44 AM
alloro
Van & CUV Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Received 93 Likes on 83 Posts

Originally Posted by William Hatmaker
i got a vibration at the passenger rear tire that comes on about 38mph. i put new tires on it but it still vibrates.
Since the vibration is the same with 2 different sets of tires, the issue is likely a bad driveshaft U-joint or a bent rear axle. A bent axle is more likely to give you issues at all speeds, so I'd focus first on the U-joints.

Old 05-10-2021, 10:13 AM
1990B150318
Professional
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Most of the time ujoints will squeal at lower speeds and the vibration is throughout and not limited to one side.

I'd also be checking the brake and parking brake in the rear, take tire off and full visual inspection. Start with that.

As for play in the steering that can be a lot of things. Alignment, ball joint, tie rod, drag link, something in the front end is far more likely than it being something related to taking the steering column apart.