Dodge Ram Van The full size Dodge Ram Van that showed that we can go and do as we please. Discuss the Dodge Ram Van here today.

55036447: Sensor, AC Evap, 3500 Van, Obsolete Fix

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-2024 | 11:24 AM
RetiredTech
|
Default 55036447: Sensor, AC Evap, 3500 Van, Obsolete Fix

Hi all you suffering 3500 van owners. I'm a retired tech who did a favor for a friend, and it led me down this rabbit hole that went past you guys. Please forgive me if this is old news, I subscribed just to tell you what I found in hopes it helps someone.
3500 van, early-mid 2000's, gas v-8 (sorry-don't have exact spec's), built for sale in Canada,(we in PNW), A/C stopped blowing cold. Diagnosed as discontinued part # 55035447, AC cycling switch, located in fins of evaporator. I got hold of a very hard to read wiring diagram, and was able to determine this is part of a convoluted ground control path for the AC clutch control relay. Of the 3 wires at the sensor connector, one was "hot key on" (center, white), the other 2 are part of the ground path. I connected the 2 outside wires (do not touch hot wire, may damage ECM), clutch began cycling, friend's wife is happy.
I'd like to note that while the AC is blowing "cold enough", diagnostics indicate it is low on freon. I don't know if a full load will freeze the evaporator, don't want to find out. Freon is very hard to get($$$), friend is happy.
I used a heat gun to open this sensor, and I found a tiny printed circuit board with an IC chip and other tiny electronic parts. My camera sucks, this is my best shot. I hate when manufactures do stuff like this to us. I hope this helps someone.

sensor 55036447

Old 05-19-2024 | 11:29 AM
ElkCon
Veteran

great info!

So, just grounding the two bypasses that sensor switch? And you just disable (tape/heat shrink) the white wire?

Just wanted to clarify

Also, how do you get to the evaporator? I have an 2002, it looks like the top of the case comes off, but I havent tried yet