Dodge Stealth The car that can still draw looks from auto enthusiasts everywhere, the Dodge Stealth. From the Naturally Aspirated version to the Twin Turbo, the Dodge Stealth has a little something for everyone.

The Stealth Experience

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-2006, 07:52 PM
thestealth
Champion
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default The Stealth Experience

I thought I would start a thread for Stealth owners to chat in, share experiences, basically just talk about these awesome cars.

The debut of the Stealth was in 1991, the same year I graduated. I fell in love with them when reading about them in Motor Trend. MT referred to them as the "Affordable Ferrari." Well, not affordable for a recent high school graduate. I got married the next year and after buying a house, I pretty much gave up my dream to own one at that time. Years passed and I had kind of forgotten about Stealths as they aren't cars you see everyday. I was in need of a new car, as the car I was driving was near death, so, I went looking for new cars. I went to all the dealerships in the area, test drove many a car and just couldn't bring myself to pay $25K+ for a commuter car. The last dealership I went too was a Honda dealer. Upon pulling in the lot, right up front they had a black 91 RT model. My wife, a fan of Stealths as well, said "Oh Oh Oh, they have a Stealth on the lot, lets test drive it!!" Right on I said. So, we talk to the salesman and go for a ride. Poor guy was crammed in the backseat while I put the car through its paces. 2nd gear was a little notchy, the interior was a little rough, cigarette burns, dirty, plus they wanted $11K for it. I knew that would not be the car I was buying, but it did re-kindle a love for a car I had all but forgotten about. So, the search was on. I called all the used car lots looking for Stealths, many had 3000gt's (sister car) but I was dead set on a Stealth. After test driving several over the course of a few months, all with little odd problems, I was ab