96 Stratus won't start, no spark, does get gas - DodgeForum.com

Go Back  DodgeForum.com > Dodge Cars > Dodge Stratus
Reload this Page > 96 Stratus won't start, no spark, does get gas
Dodge Stratus The Dodge Stratus. Whether you've got a sedan or coupe, base model or R/T, theDodge Stratus has winning looks and thrilling performance.

96 Stratus won't start, no spark, does get gas

Reply

 
 
  #1  
Old 12-06-2010, 09:53 AM
Imre
Imre is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 14
Default 96 Stratus won't start, no spark, does get gas

Hi!

I'm here in Budapest, it's been unusually cold, well below freezing -- the first below freezing morning car was hard to start, simply cranked and nothing for a bit, then started to catch and came on.

Then I parked it for a couple of below freezing days and it just cranks -- gets fuel but no spark.

Fuses seem OK -- didn't pull them, just appear not blown.

96 Stratus 2.5 V6

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Best,

Imre
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-07-2010, 12:35 AM
master tech's Avatar
master tech
master tech is offline
Site Moderator & Tech
Dodge Forum Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Bruno ,Ca
Posts: 10,847
Default

Check the wires going to the crank sensor. And here is something i tried here,blow dryer on the PCM.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-07-2010, 07:21 AM
Imre
Imre is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 14
Default

thanks Master Tech!

Will try, car is down the street, I live of a hill and... well, will let you know.

Imre
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-07-2010, 07:25 AM
Imre
Imre is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 14
Default

Basic question: what's the easiest way to see the crank sensor and where is the PCM?

Thanx,

Imre
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-07-2010, 09:04 AM
Imre
Imre is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 14
Default

Is the PCM under the hood, at the fuse box, next to it on the left side? Is there a simple test for it?

As for crank sensor, is it at the bellhousing? I didn't have a flashlight, pretty small and dark area, do I have to remove much to get to it? Is there an easy way to check it?

Another warmer day tomorrow forcasted, hopefully the snow will be melted and I'll remove them.

Thanks again,

Imre
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-08-2010, 12:28 AM
master tech's Avatar
master tech
master tech is offline
Site Moderator & Tech
Dodge Forum Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Bruno ,Ca
Posts: 10,847
Default

The crank sensor is bolted to the transmission bellhousing, and the PCM would near the black box (PDC).
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-08-2010, 06:08 AM
Imre
Imre is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 14
Default

Thanks Master Tech!

Does the PCM have an aluninum casing?

Imre

PS: That's a mighty, and I mean mighty, fine V10 !!
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
yevgenievich
Dodge Stratus
3
09-16-2017 09:48 PM
herche54
2nd Gen Ram Tech
17
07-23-2017 07:22 PM
daniel.kirkby
Dodge Stratus
3
06-15-2017 06:20 PM
gt1009
Dodge Stratus
1
07-13-2015 01:18 PM
Daug
Dodge Stratus
5
07-04-2015 08:00 PM

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Featured Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:56 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: