Jeeps The tough off road capability of ANY Jeep model from the Wrangler to the fully loaded Grand Cherokee keeps this cousin of Dodge the king of every hill.

Commander 5.7 hemi loud clacking

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2022 | 02:20 PM
dankis12
|
Default Commander 5.7 hemi loud clacking

Hey yall, I'll start off by saying I know this isn't a jeep forum, but I have the 5.7 hemi and I think someone here would most likely know more about the 5.7 than the Jeep forums. That was my thought anyway. my issue is strictly a hemi engine issue.

Also, I have been a longtime forum lurker on multiple forums and this is my first time ever posting on a forum anywhere, only because I have such a unique problem.

I bought a 2006 commander with the 5.7 hemi from an alleged mechanic about 2 years ago with 187,xxx miles and he said he replaced the engine recently. I even saw the paperwork. The gist of it is that the Jeep he sold me had a bad engine. I didn't know it, but I found out about it about a month or two later when the oil (that he probably just changed) started looking milky-headgasket? The warranty on the new engine was like for 10k miles or something from the shop (I cant remember the details exactly) but I do know the warranty was conveniently just expired. The new (used, I assumed?) engine miles was NOT listed anywhere on the engine replacement.

Anyway here's where it gets interesting, the engine would make a loud "clacking" noise, similar to a thrown rod bearing-only much louder. At an intersection people would be looking at me weird. LOL. So I got mad and floored it, and it went away!

I then drove it for a while (5k miles?)and the engine drove fine, plenty of torque, but I was kind of careful. My wife drove it once and she was unaware, and she got "on it" and the clacking noise came back. Again, I floored it, and it went away. This happened twice more.