New Member Area New to DF? Stop in tell us about yourself and your ride. Please post technical questions in the tech sections.

HELLO THERE!

Search this Thread

Old 11-24-2005, 12:23 AM
embalmerjeff
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HELLO THERE!

Hello Group!

I'm an apprentice funeral director in the Lebanon, PA area. I've been a MOPAR man all my life. At one time, my pride & joy was a '73 Challenger. I'd trade the old lady to have that car back! [8D]

I am the proud owner of a 2001 Intrepid SE with 74,000 miles on it. And yes, it has the dreaded 2.7L motor in it. Knock on wood, I haven't had any sludge problems with it (yet). The motor was out of it over the summer to have the galley plugs replaced because they were leaking oil. It never runs hot, it runs great, and gets decent in-town mileage, and its highway mileage rivals that of some of these new cars being put out today. My wife used to drive it to-and-from Jonestown, PA to Allentown, PA every day which is a 55 mile run one way. When I read about all of these 2.7L engine failures, I got paranoid & took the Intrepid back for my own use. Like clockwork, either I change the oil or my local Dodge dealer will change the oil every 3,000 miles. Hopefully I will not have any sludge problems.

I think that the 2.7L is peppy! I put a K&N filter in mine, and I think that my Intrepid has more spunk than the 3.1L Buick Century at the funeral home.

If anyone can offer any suggestions/advice to further help me keep my Dodge in tip-top shape, please let me know!

Old 11-24-2005, 12:27 AM
Daksport1pa
Banned
Default RE: HELLO THERE!

Welcome to the site fellow Pennsylvanian.

Old 11-24-2005, 12:34 AM
embalmerjeff

Thanks!

Old 11-24-2005, 12:52 AM
Disgorilla
Veteran

Welcome to Dodge Forum,

Old 11-24-2005, 12:57 AM
embalmerjeff

Thanks! That's a sweet truck!

Old 11-24-2005, 02:24 AM
deranged
Record Breaker
Received 1 Like on 1 Post