Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge SUVs > Dodge Durango > 1st Gen Durango
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

error code no bus?

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 03-20-2011, 03:13 PM
Ed Mason Ed Mason is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 7
Default error code no bus?

I have a 2003 Durango, just took a dump. Won't start. As soon as ig.switch is turned on and try to start trans selector on instrument cluster switches down the line from P, R, D, 2, 1 over and over and then shows no bus error code. Tried to reset computer by disconnecting bat. Checked connectors on computer, unplugged and replugged in. Don't have a clue what to do. New member.
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-20-2011, 03:51 PM
IndyDurango's Avatar
IndyDurango IndyDurango is offline
Champion
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Vehicle: 2000 Demon Durango SLT+
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,822
Default

No Bus is the main PCM (computer) not being able to communicate to the system.

1) Check connections to the PCM throughly AFTER disconnecting the battery
2) Clean connections to the PCM and reconnect throughly
3) Reset PCM
4) Reattach battery

Generally if that doesn't fix it, replace the PCM. It is toast.

IndyDurango
__________________

- Truck of the Month: 12/2006 & 06/2012 DodgeForum.com;
01/2006 DurangoClub.com; 07/2007 Dakota-Durango.com
- Durangoer of the Year: 2006 DurangoClub.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-20-2011, 05:36 PM
master tech's Avatar
master tech master tech is offline
Multi-section Moderator
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Vehicle: Mits P/U , Dodge avenger(1996) .
Location: San Bruno ,Ca
Posts: 10,537
Leonard Pierce
Default

Welcome to DF
I would try unplugging the crank sensor and see if the no bus is gone. If the engine is a 4.7L, try starting engine it will start with the cam sensor. Won't run very well but will start.
__________________
Dodge Master Tech.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-21-2011, 10:03 AM
Evon Trizmo Evon Trizmo is offline
Captain
2003 Dodge Stratus
My Garage
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Vehicle: 1998 Durango
Location: Ohio
Posts: 514
Send a message via MSN to Evon Trizmo
Default

"No bus" basically means your PCM is probably toast as suggested. If your cluster is showing the message it means it's not seeing or communicating on the CCD bus, which comes from your PCM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-22-2011, 02:21 AM
IndyDurango's Avatar
IndyDurango IndyDurango is offline
Champion
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Vehicle: 2000 Demon Durango SLT+
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,822
Default

There is a half echo in here.

There is a half echo in here.
__________________

- Truck of the Month: 12/2006 & 06/2012 DodgeForum.com;
01/2006 DurangoClub.com; 07/2007 Dakota-Durango.com
- Durangoer of the Year: 2006 DurangoClub.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-28-2011, 11:14 PM
Ed Mason Ed Mason is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 7
Default no bus STILL

After installing new (reman) pcm still have no bus code. 2003 Durango with 4.7 engine. When key is turned on to start, trans selector indicator goes through positions over and over then engine light comes on and then no bus code at odometer. Also still shows original mileage as I used a rounded off mileage 252 miles lower than original. 123,252 old, 123,000 to the remanufacterer. Have already disconnected crank and cam sensors, nothing.
Does difference in mileage affect the outcome. What the heck.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-28-2011, 11:35 PM
master tech's Avatar
master tech master tech is offline
Multi-section Moderator
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Vehicle: Mits P/U , Dodge avenger(1996) .
Location: San Bruno ,Ca
Posts: 10,537
Leonard Pierce
Default

Here is what you need to do. Start unplugging sensors one at a time. Start with the trans controller,then the ABS,TPS, Don't disconnect both cam and crank sensors at the same time. The last sensor you want to unplug is the cluster. NO BUS means a module or sensor is taking the down bus circuit and will not allow commuications with other modules.
__________________
Dodge Master Tech.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-28-2011, 11:56 PM
Evon Trizmo Evon Trizmo is offline
Captain
2003 Dodge Stratus
My Garage
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Vehicle: 1998 Durango
Location: Ohio
Posts: 514
Send a message via MSN to Evon Trizmo
Default

After you do what mastertech said and if it didn't fix the problem, last is the cluster. Your cluster might be bad then if the PCM didn't fix it. Or a wiring issue. Does your D start now with the new PCM? Your mileage getting programed into it wrong I don't think would have anything to do with it, I heard the PCM compares it's miles to the clusters and uses the highest one. Do the cluster self-test, just hold down the trip reset button and while holding it down turn the key to on and the odometer display should show you some 3 digit 900s codes that might help pinpoint the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-29-2011, 09:24 AM
shrpshtr325's Avatar
shrpshtr325 shrpshtr325 is offline
THE ULTI-MOD
Dodge Forum Moderator
2002 Dodge Durango
My Garage
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Vehicle: 2013 Challenger R/T
Location: Toms River NJ
Posts: 19,049
Send a message via AIM to shrpshtr325
Default

we also had this solve the problem not too long ago

Quote:
Originally Posted by Winsok View Post
Wow, so my wife has been royally pissed cause i couldn't figure this out and she just thinks i messed it up cause i was "screwing around with something that i shouldn't be"

But i think i fixed it, it was just a fuse lol, trans pos ind fuse. I havnt got to drive it, but at least when i turn it on now, all the gauges are normal, there is no more no bus on the odomotor, like i said havnt gotten to drive it yet, but hopefully this solved the problem, cause everything seems to be acting normal.


read the whole thread here

http://dodgeforum.com/forum/1st-gen-...-bus-help.html
__________________


-Phillip's Law: Four-wheel-drive just means getting stuck in more inaccessible places.

bikes?
live in NJ?
REAR WIPER CLUB MEMBER #2

Quote:
altair: I need something that lets me stab people in the face over the internet
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-29-2011, 10:25 PM
Ed Mason Ed Mason is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 7
Default No bus ongoing can't fix

OK, Tried: disconnecting trans controller, ABS, TPS, and then instrument cluster, still NO BUS. At a loss on what to do. Won't start, never would after NO BUS. Checked all fuses-good. Did the hold the trip odo and start, showed codes 920, 921, 960, and held on 999 until I shut the key off. Vehicle is parked where it wouldn't start in a pile of gravel, so I can't move the stupid thing. Darn thing has too many wires to trace, can't afford to take to a shop. Vehicle has been good until now.
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 10:25 PM
 
 
 
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:43 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails