After market stereo - Power but no sound... - DodgeForum.com



2nd Gen RAM general discussion/NON-tech This section is for general discussions about your 2nd gen RAM. Non tech related RAM threads belong here.

After market stereo - Power but no sound...

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 08-19-2013, 02:10 AM
Willster's Avatar
Willster
Willster is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fordland, MO
Posts: 57
Question After market stereo - Power but no sound...

I pulled my OEM stereo today and put in a Pioneer Super Tuner III CD player. Used a Scosche (C012) wiring harness made for the truck, and hooked up all the wiring from the deck to the harness as they are supposed to be, plugged the gray and black harness(es) from the stereo to the truck's harness(es), and the stereo powers up fine, and I can change sources and adjust the volume with no problem, but I have absolutely no sound. The only wire leftover that is not currently hooked up to anything is the blue/black wire from the truck, which I have since read is the OEM radio ground wire? Would that one wire make the difference in the speakers working or not if it were hooked up somewhere (i.e. the black ground wire coming from the head unit perhaps?) I know the speakers work, because the OEM radio worked up to the time I pulled it for the Pioneer this afternoon.....
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-19-2013, 07:57 AM
stewie01's Avatar
stewie01
stewie01 is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fredericksburg, Virginia
Posts: 8,889
Default

Was your truck equipped with the Infinity Sound System?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-19-2013, 08:53 AM
jkeaton's Avatar
jkeaton
jkeaton is offline
Site Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Winston Salem, NC
Posts: 18,614
Default

^^ yeah that. Gotta bypass the amps which are at the speakers, iirc.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-19-2013, 10:26 AM
Willster's Avatar
Willster
Willster is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fordland, MO
Posts: 57
Default

I don't believe my truck has the Infinity system; the speakers don't say Infinity on them anywhere, nor does that plug. I have read on an installer page that the black and blue wire (marked AMP where it plugged into the OEM radio), whether it be the Infinity wire or just the radio ground, is to be plugged into the black ground wire coming from the (aftermarket) head unit. I was just curious if that would make a difference in the speakers working or not?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-19-2013, 11:28 AM
dodge dude94
dodge dude94 is offline
Banned Goober Smoocher
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 8,920
Default

(Just for grins here)
Do you have tweeters on the a-pillars?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-19-2013, 11:34 AM
Willster's Avatar
Willster
Willster is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fordland, MO
Posts: 57
Default

dodge dude, if I understand where you are talking about correctly, then yes, I do have tweeters on the a-pillars. That would be the little speakers on the inside windshield corners just above the dash, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-19-2013, 11:38 AM
dodge dude94
dodge dude94 is offline
Banned Goober Smoocher
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 8,920
Default

Yes, therefore you have the Infinity system.


My truck doesn't say Infinity anywhere in the truck either, but I have it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-19-2013, 12:04 PM
Johnn123's Avatar
Johnn123
Johnn123 is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lakefield, Ontario
Posts: 1,530
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkeaton View Post
^^ yeah that. Gotta bypass the amps which are at the speakers, iirc.
Oddly enough I have seen ONCE where the factory amps got reused and actually worked. Not in my ram, but my friend has a 2nd gen with the infinity system and when we installed the new deck (7" touch display sony), everything worked just fine

Is definitely easier to bypass them though
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-19-2013, 12:20 PM
Willster's Avatar
Willster
Willster is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fordland, MO
Posts: 57
Default

Ok, so 2 questions then, knowing now that I apparently have the Infinity system.... 1. Will connecting the black and blue wire coming from the truck, which was plugged into the back of the OEM deck, into the ground wire from my Pioneer, make the speakers work? Possibly only one way to find that out for sure, I am going to try that as soon as I get home anyway. And 2. In the event that does NOT work, how would I go about bypassing the amp(s) at the speakers?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-19-2013, 12:45 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Adrian, MI
Posts: 41,024
Default

I think powering the amp would be easier...... Or not....

Seems the amps get their power from the Radio Choke Relay..... which is controlled by the radio via the antenna output? I REALLY don't quite understand that one..... I suspect I am missing something there.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
JVOLLEY1
3rd Gen Dakota general discussion
4
08-09-2015 08:32 PM
jayz55
2nd Gen RAM general discussion/NON-tech
18
08-03-2015 01:04 PM
JFloors
Dodge Ram Van
6
07-20-2015 10:59 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:12 AM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send