Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 2nd Gen Ram Tech > 2nd Gen RAM general discussion/NON-tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


2nd Gen RAM general discussion/NON-tech This section is for general discussions about your 2nd gen RAM. Non tech related RAM threads belong here.

After market stereo - Power but no sound...

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 08-19-2013, 01:10 AM
Willster's Avatar
Willster Willster is offline
Rookie
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Vehicle: 2000 Durango SLT 4x4 5.9L V8
Location: Fordland, MO
Posts: 57
Question After market stereo - Power but no sound...

I pulled my OEM stereo today and put in a Pioneer Super Tuner III CD player. Used a Scosche (C012) wiring harness made for the truck, and hooked up all the wiring from the deck to the harness as they are supposed to be, plugged the gray and black harness(es) from the stereo to the truck's harness(es), and the stereo powers up fine, and I can change sources and adjust the volume with no problem, but I have absolutely no sound. The only wire leftover that is not currently hooked up to anything is the blue/black wire from the truck, which I have since read is the OEM radio ground wire? Would that one wire make the difference in the speakers working or not if it were hooked up somewhere (i.e. the black ground wire coming from the head unit perhaps?) I know the speakers work, because the OEM radio worked up to the time I pulled it for the Pioneer this afternoon.....
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-19-2013, 06:57 AM
stewie01's Avatar
stewie01 stewie01 is offline
Legend
2001 Dodge Ram 1500
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Vehicle: 2001 Ram 1500 4x2 360V8
Location: Independence, Virginia
Posts: 8,427
Default

Was your truck equipped with the Infinity Sound System?
__________________
"This place is an X-file, wrapped in a cover-up and deep-fried in a paranoid conspiracy."
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-19-2013, 07:53 AM
jkeaton's Avatar
jkeaton jkeaton is offline
Dodge Forum Moderator
2013 Dodge Journey
My Garage
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Vehicle: Various
Location: Winston Salem, NC
Posts: 12,227
Kent Eaton
Default

^^ yeah that. Gotta bypass the amps which are at the speakers, iirc.
__________________


2013 Dodge Journey SXT
2005 Mitsubishi Eclipse GT Spyder
2004 Hyundai Tiburon GT
1995 Ford Mustang
1995 Chevy Z71 K1500
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-19-2013, 09:26 AM
Willster's Avatar
Willster Willster is offline
Rookie
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Vehicle: 2000 Durango SLT 4x4 5.9L V8
Location: Fordland, MO
Posts: 57
Default

I don't believe my truck has the Infinity system; the speakers don't say Infinity on them anywhere, nor does that plug. I have read on an installer page that the black and blue wire (marked AMP where it plugged into the OEM radio), whether it be the Infinity wire or just the radio ground, is to be plugged into the black ground wire coming from the (aftermarket) head unit. I was just curious if that would make a difference in the speakers working or not?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-19-2013, 10:28 AM
dodge dude94 dodge dude94 is offline
Banned
1998 Dodge Ram 1500
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Vehicle: 1998 Ram 1500 QCSB 360 4x4
Location: East Texas
Posts: 8,923
Default

(Just for grins here)
Do you have tweeters on the a-pillars?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-19-2013, 10:34 AM
Willster's Avatar
Willster Willster is offline
Rookie
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Vehicle: 2000 Durango SLT 4x4 5.9L V8
Location: Fordland, MO
Posts: 57
Default

dodge dude, if I understand where you are talking about correctly, then yes, I do have tweeters on the a-pillars. That would be the little speakers on the inside windshield corners just above the dash, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-19-2013, 10:38 AM
dodge dude94 dodge dude94 is offline
Banned
1998 Dodge Ram 1500
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Vehicle: 1998 Ram 1500 QCSB 360 4x4
Location: East Texas
Posts: 8,923
Default

Yes, therefore you have the Infinity system.


My truck doesn't say Infinity anywhere in the truck either, but I have it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-19-2013, 11:04 AM
Johnn123's Avatar
Johnn123 Johnn123 is offline
Record Breaker
2010 Dodge Ram 1500
My Garage
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Vehicle: 2010 Ram 1500 4x4 5.7L
Location: Lakefield, Ontario
Posts: 1,385
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkeaton View Post
^^ yeah that. Gotta bypass the amps which are at the speakers, iirc.
Oddly enough I have seen ONCE where the factory amps got reused and actually worked. Not in my ram, but my friend has a 2nd gen with the infinity system and when we installed the new deck (7" touch display sony), everything worked just fine

Is definitely easier to bypass them though
__________________
2010 Dodge Ram 1500 SLT 5.7L, Auto, 4x4 QCSB, Remote Start, Air Lift 1000, 20" LED Light Bar, Black Fender Hashes
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-19-2013, 11:20 AM
Willster's Avatar
Willster Willster is offline
Rookie
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Vehicle: 2000 Durango SLT 4x4 5.9L V8
Location: Fordland, MO
Posts: 57
Default

Ok, so 2 questions then, knowing now that I apparently have the Infinity system.... 1. Will connecting the black and blue wire coming from the truck, which was plugged into the back of the OEM deck, into the ground wire from my Pioneer, make the speakers work? Possibly only one way to find that out for sure, I am going to try that as soon as I get home anyway. And 2. In the event that does NOT work, how would I go about bypassing the amp(s) at the speakers?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-19-2013, 11:45 AM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou HeyYou is offline
Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Vehicle: 1996 Dodge Ram 2500
Location: Adrian, MI
Posts: 32,279
Default

I think powering the amp would be easier...... Or not....

Seems the amps get their power from the Radio Choke Relay..... which is controlled by the radio via the antenna output? I REALLY don't quite understand that one..... I suspect I am missing something there.
__________________
1996 Ram 2500 5.9 EC/SB Gas, Auto, 4x4, Hughes plenum plate, Kegger mod, double roller timing set, rest is stock. For now.....
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 11:45 AM
 
 
 
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:56 AM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails