Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 2nd Gen Ram Tech > 2nd Gen RAM general discussion/NON-tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


2nd Gen RAM general discussion/NON-tech This section is for general discussions about your 2nd gen RAM. Non tech related RAM threads belong here.

After market stereo - Power but no sound...

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 08-19-2013, 01:10 AM
Willster's Avatar
Willster Willster is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Vehicle: 2000 Durango SLT 4x4 5.9L V8
Location: Fordland, MO
Posts: 57
Question After market stereo - Power but no sound...

I pulled my OEM stereo today and put in a Pioneer Super Tuner III CD player. Used a Scosche (C012) wiring harness made for the truck, and hooked up all the wiring from the deck to the harness as they are supposed to be, plugged the gray and black harness(es) from the stereo to the truck's harness(es), and the stereo powers up fine, and I can change sources and adjust the volume with no problem, but I have absolutely no sound. The only wire leftover that is not currently hooked up to anything is the blue/black wire from the truck, which I have since read is the OEM radio ground wire? Would that one wire make the difference in the speakers working or not if it were hooked up somewhere (i.e. the black ground wire coming from the head unit perhaps?) I know the speakers work, because the OEM radio worked up to the time I pulled it for the Pioneer this afternoon.....
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-19-2013, 06:57 AM
stewie01's Avatar
stewie01 stewie01 is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Vehicle: 2001 Ram 1500 4x2 360V8
Location: Independence, Virginia
Posts: 8,569
Default

Was your truck equipped with the Infinity Sound System?
__________________
"This place is an X-file, wrapped in a cover-up and deep-fried in a paranoid conspiracy."
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-19-2013, 07:53 AM
jkeaton's Avatar
jkeaton jkeaton is offline
Dodge Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Vehicle: Various
Location: Winston Salem, NC
Posts: 13,908
Kent Eaton
Default

^^ yeah that. Gotta bypass the amps which are at the speakers, iirc.
__________________


2013 Dodge Journey SXT
2007 Ford Mustang
2005 Mitsubishi Eclipse GT Spyder
2004 Hyundai Tiburon GT
1995 Chevy Z71 K1500
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-19-2013, 09:26 AM
Willster's Avatar
Willster Willster is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Vehicle: 2000 Durango SLT 4x4 5.9L V8
Location: Fordland, MO
Posts: 57
Default

I don't believe my truck has the Infinity system; the speakers don't say Infinity on them anywhere, nor does that plug. I have read on an installer page that the black and blue wire (marked AMP where it plugged into the OEM radio), whether it be the Infinity wire or just the radio ground, is to be plugged into the black ground wire coming from the (aftermarket) head unit. I was just curious if that would make a difference in the speakers working or not?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-19-2013, 10:28 AM
dodge dude94 dodge dude94 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Vehicle: 1998 Ram 1500 QCSB 360 4x4
Location: East Texas
Posts: 8,923
Default

(Just for grins here)
Do you have tweeters on the a-pillars?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-19-2013, 10:34 AM
Willster's Avatar
Willster Willster is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Vehicle: 2000 Durango SLT 4x4 5.9L V8
Location: Fordland, MO
Posts: 57
Default

dodge dude, if I understand where you are talking about correctly, then yes, I do have tweeters on the a-pillars. That would be the little speakers on the inside windshield corners just above the dash, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-19-2013, 10:38 AM
dodge dude94 dodge dude94 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Vehicle: 1998 Ram 1500 QCSB 360 4x4
Location: East Texas
Posts: 8,923
Default

Yes, therefore you have the Infinity system.


My truck doesn't say Infinity anywhere in the truck either, but I have it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-19-2013, 11:04 AM
Johnn123's Avatar
Johnn123 Johnn123 is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Vehicle: 2010 Ram 1500 4x4 5.7L
Location: Lakefield, Ontario
Posts: 1,530
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkeaton View Post
^^ yeah that. Gotta bypass the amps which are at the speakers, iirc.
Oddly enough I have seen ONCE where the factory amps got reused and actually worked. Not in my ram, but my friend has a 2nd gen with the infinity system and when we installed the new deck (7" touch display sony), everything worked just fine

Is definitely easier to bypass them though
__________________
2010 Dodge Ram 1500 SLT 5.7L, Auto, 4x4 QCSB, Remote Start, Air Lift 1000, 20" LED Light Bar, Black Fender Hashes, Mickey Thompson MTZ 265/70/17
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-19-2013, 11:20 AM
Willster's Avatar
Willster Willster is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Vehicle: 2000 Durango SLT 4x4 5.9L V8
Location: Fordland, MO
Posts: 57
Default

Ok, so 2 questions then, knowing now that I apparently have the Infinity system.... 1. Will connecting the black and blue wire coming from the truck, which was plugged into the back of the OEM deck, into the ground wire from my Pioneer, make the speakers work? Possibly only one way to find that out for sure, I am going to try that as soon as I get home anyway. And 2. In the event that does NOT work, how would I go about bypassing the amp(s) at the speakers?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-19-2013, 11:45 AM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou HeyYou is offline
Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Vehicle: 1996 Dodge Ram 2500
Location: Adrian, MI
Posts: 34,339
Default

I think powering the amp would be easier...... Or not....

Seems the amps get their power from the Radio Choke Relay..... which is controlled by the radio via the antenna output? I REALLY don't quite understand that one..... I suspect I am missing something there.
__________________
1996 Ram 2500 5.9 EC/SB Gas, Auto, 4x4, Hughes plenum plate, Kegger mod, double roller timing set, rest is stock. For now.....
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-19-2013, 04:32 PM
oxymoron29's Avatar
oxymoron29 oxymoron29 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Vehicle: 1997 Ram 1500 5.2L
Posts: 318
Default

From the CR012 package:

"If your vehicle is equipped with a Chrysler-Infinity audio system, it will be necessary to connect the blue wire of the CR012 harness to the blue or blue/white (amp remote or power antenna) wire of the stereo. This will turn on the Infinity-Amplified speakers."

BTW, are you sure your left over wire is not violet/black? Looking at the wiring diagram I don't see a blue/black...

Also, just to clear the air, the stock infinity amps can all be retained and mounted on your new speakers if you wish. The nota bene above applies to it.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-19-2013, 04:36 PM
Willster's Avatar
Willster Willster is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Vehicle: 2000 Durango SLT 4x4 5.9L V8
Location: Fordland, MO
Posts: 57
Default

It could be violet and black, oxy, I do know it is the wire that was plugged into the back of the OE deck all by itself and said AMP where it was hooked up, which, now reading all of this Infinity system information, makes perfect sense.

So, do I need to hook that wire coming from the truck, to either of those other blue wires, or anywhere otherwise? Or just by hooking up the power antenna wires from the head unit and the CR012 harness together, that will make my speakers work?

Last edited by Willster; 08-19-2013 at 04:40 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-19-2013, 09:57 PM
oxymoron29's Avatar
oxymoron29 oxymoron29 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Vehicle: 1997 Ram 1500 5.2L
Posts: 318
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Willster View Post
So, do I need to hook that wire coming from the truck, to either of those other blue wires, or anywhere otherwise? Or just by hooking up the power antenna wires from the head unit and the CR012 harness together, that will make my speakers work?
The latter should make your system work assuming all your other connections are wired correctly. Let us know how it works out.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-19-2013, 10:50 PM
Willster's Avatar
Willster Willster is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Vehicle: 2000 Durango SLT 4x4 5.9L V8
Location: Fordland, MO
Posts: 57
Default

YES! I hooked the solid blue (power antenna) wire from the black harness up to the blue/white wire from my Pioneer, and my truck is ROCKIN!!!! Don't even have the "amp" wire (the black and violet one) from the truck hooked up to anything, taped it off, the radio AND CD player are working GOOD! Gonna have to adjust the EQ on the Super Tuner dowwwwn, with the power of it and the Infinity system together, it was starting to distort on less than 30 volume level lol, but was hitting plenty hard and sounded GREAT! And oxy, you were right, I read the instruction thing that came with the C012 harness closer, and sure enough those Chrysler/Infinity system instructions were right there in the middle! I probably overlooked them yesterday because I didn't realize my truck has the Infinity system.....

Thank you all for your help and input, and I hope this can help others that run into the same issue!!!! Happy Happy Happy right here!!!
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 10:50 PM
 
 
 
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:46 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails