aut zone told me my truck has no mass air flow sensor - DodgeForum.com


2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

aut zone told me my truck has no mass air flow sensor

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 05-14-2012, 07:55 PM
2000ramsport's Avatar
2000ramsport
2000ramsport is offline
Professional
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 228
Default aut zone told me my truck has no mass air flow sensor

I called to get a price today for a mass air flow sensor at auto zone and the guy on the phone told me my truck doesnt have one cause his computer said not reqired.then i called advanced and they told me they have one for $75 bucks.what gives why would they say that?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-14-2012, 08:05 PM
Matt Nickerson's Avatar
Matt Nickerson
Matt Nickerson is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Southern Massachusetts
Posts: 1,095
Default

There's no mass air flow sensor. Look at your air cleaner assembly and the plastic tube attached...see a mass air flow sensor? You shoudln't... Why are you looking to get one anyways?

You must've given AAP the wrong info or they were looking at a MAP sensor or something of the like. You can buy it if you want... but you can't install it anywhere and the computer won't even look for MAF sensor readings to begin with

Last edited by Matt Nickerson; 05-14-2012 at 08:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-14-2012, 08:25 PM
dhvaughan's Avatar
dhvaughan
dhvaughan is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Gainesville, Ga.
Posts: 12,203
Default

our trucks don't have a MAF sensor (mass air flow).

they do have a MAP sensor (manifold air pressure) and they are $75-100, and they very seldom fail. don't replace it unless you know for sure that its bad, such as a pcm code...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-14-2012, 11:03 PM
UnregisteredUser's Avatar
UnregisteredUser
UnregisteredUser is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Meeker, CO
Posts: 4,991
Default

For once an AutoZone counter monkey got it right. And the counter monkey at Advanced just quoted a price for a MAP sensor without bothering to educate the customer, which may or may not be the right way to go. Some folks like being set straight, others get all self-righteously indignant.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-15-2012, 03:39 AM
2000ramsport's Avatar
2000ramsport
2000ramsport is offline
Professional
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 228
Default

I guess the few hours sleep I had made me say it wrong lol .i did mean to say MAP sensor ugh. I was just calling to get a price after i called about another item at both stores what on earth was I thinking i want i was to tired oh well no big deal thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-16-2012, 05:14 PM
Robert Green
Robert Green is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
Default 2000 Ram 1500 2wd 5.9

I was told today that my 2000 ram had a mass air flow sensor problem. It starts but then sits there and bogs and wont take any gas but every once in a while it might catch and actually run for 10 minutes or so.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-16-2012, 05:15 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 42,072
Default

Don't have a mass air flow sensor. Is your CEL coming on?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-16-2012, 09:44 PM
dhvaughan's Avatar
dhvaughan
dhvaughan is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Gainesville, Ga.
Posts: 12,203
Default

welcome to df, robert green.

jumping ahead - check for stored codes in the computer.
turn ignition to on - off - on - off - on
read codes in odometer, ending with p-done.

post back here.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-17-2012, 02:13 AM
gdstock's Avatar
gdstock
gdstock is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 8,259
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Green View Post
I was told today that my 2000 ram had a mass air flow sensor problem. It starts but then sits there and bogs and wont take any gas but every once in a while it might catch and actually run for 10 minutes or so.

...and who told you this and why?

More likely plenum blown and cat clogged as well as confused O2, bad IAC (or dirty port), or TPS.......but certainly NOT a MAF issue.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-18-2012, 01:26 AM
ReadRam
ReadRam is offline
All Star
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: fargo, n.d
Posts: 781
Default

The fuel pump could also be suspect with information provided.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
95Ram2500v10
2nd Gen Ram Tech
5
01-31-2016 11:09 PM
Lyniaer
1st Gen Durango
2
11-12-2015 01:39 PM
Khris1994
2nd Gen Ram Tech
121
10-24-2015 02:47 PM
superadam12003
1st Gen Durango
3
08-01-2015 09:30 AM
Stone007
1st Gen Ram Tech
3
07-10-2015 08:10 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:40 PM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send