Oil pressure sending unit - DodgeForum.com



2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Oil pressure sending unit

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 09-19-2012, 02:50 PM
94Beater's Avatar
94Beater
94Beater is offline
Professional
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 235
Default Oil pressure sending unit

How difficult is to change the oil pressure sending unit?
I felt that SOB right by the distributor, seems like a PITA to do it.
BTW, what size socket should I use to remove it?
I'm going to do mechanical oil pressure gauge and remove one in the dash.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-19-2012, 06:18 PM
Sooper's Avatar
Sooper
Sooper is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Central Missouri
Posts: 712
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 94Beater View Post
How difficult is to change the oil pressure sending unit?
I felt that SOB right by the distributor, seems like a PITA to do it.
BTW, what size socket should I use to remove it?
I'm going to do mechanical oil pressure gauge and remove one in the dash.

It's a complete pain in the ***. Make some witness marks, set to Top Dead Center on #1, and remove the distributor. Luckily the computer controls the timing so it doesn't have to be exact like on older engines.

Even if you add a mechanical for reference...might keep the stock gauge in place for a second opinion and in case the next owner wants it that way.

Last edited by Sooper; 09-20-2012 at 08:27 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-19-2012, 06:26 PM
merc225hp's Avatar
merc225hp
merc225hp is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 4,664
Default

Remove the dizzy what for?? there is more than enough room to do this job without taking out the dizzy. A 3/8 drive ratchet, 12" extension and a swivel joint and socket that's all you need. It's tight but not that bad, mostly blind handed work.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-19-2012, 07:25 PM
zman17's Avatar
zman17
zman17 is offline
Retired Moderator - RIP
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NH
Posts: 18,729
Default

Do NOT remove or loosen the distributor. Get the new oil sender and get a deep 1 1/16 12 point socket IIRC and make sure it fits the new sender first. Remove the air cleaner and you'll be able to see much better.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-19-2012, 10:24 PM
dhvaughan's Avatar
dhvaughan
dhvaughan is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Gainesville, Ga.
Posts: 12,203
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sooper View Post
remove the distributor. Luckily the computer controls the timing so it doesn't have to be exact like on older engines.
no, no, no a thousand times no. do not remove the distributor unless you or a buddy have a hi-tech scanner that can reset the fuel sync.

find another way.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-19-2012, 10:56 PM
Sooper's Avatar
Sooper
Sooper is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Central Missouri
Posts: 712
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dhvaughan View Post
no, no, no a thousand times no. do not remove the distributor unless you or a buddy have a hi-tech scanner that can reset the fuel sync.

find another way.

That's what the witness mark is for. A couple thousandths difference isn't going to upset the sync.

I thought I should add more detail. I have done this several times for various reasons and never had to re-sync.

As is practice whenever pulling a distributor, set the engine to Top Dead Center on #1. This will point the distributor rotor to #1. Use a long flat head screw driver or chisel and a whack from a hammer and put a witness mark that hits on both the distributor flange and the block. This way that mark tells you the orientation of the distributor body. As long as the mark is on both, you can line it up spot on every time.

When the distributor goes back in, as long as the mark lines up and the rotor lines up...meaning you're in the same tooth on the cam gear, the truck will never know the distributor was removed.

Heck, even using a witness mark for setting it up, there's less variance than the slop that exists in most older timing chains.

Last edited by Sooper; 09-20-2012 at 08:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-20-2012, 09:48 AM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Adrian, MI
Posts: 41,024
Default

Thing is, the dist isn't in the way of the OPS.....
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-20-2012, 01:02 PM
zman17's Avatar
zman17
zman17 is offline
Retired Moderator - RIP
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NH
Posts: 18,729
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HeyYou View Post
Thing is, the dist isn't in the way of the OPS.....
+1000, NO good reason at all to deal with the dizzy when replacing the oil sender.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-20-2012, 01:04 PM
ryan0714
ryan0714 is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,316
Default

dont move the dist. you can get to it with and extenion and ratchet, with a socker. they make a socket exactly for it at autozone. its on the isle with the tools
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-20-2012, 04:04 PM
sungod
sungod is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Fairfax VA
Posts: 389
Default

I replaced mine without removing the distributor. It wasn't the easiest to get to and I worked blind, but not a huge deal. The connector was probably the most hassle.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Kelli
2nd Gen Dakota
13
08-28-2015 12:41 AM
Poweram91
1st Gen Ram Tech
2
08-18-2015 10:21 PM
josh.simon
Dodge Caravan
2
08-11-2015 09:31 PM
crackbaby123
1st Gen Dakota
1
08-10-2015 08:09 PM
josh.simon
Dodge Caravan
9
07-18-2015 12:35 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:04 AM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send