Plenum gasket causing loss of oil? - DodgeForum.com


2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Plenum gasket causing loss of oil?

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 03-18-2014, 01:31 AM
Brandontenold
Brandontenold is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 59
Default Plenum gasket causing loss of oil?

I'm having a issue with my dodge, 1998 dodge with a 5.9l 360. Uses about a quart or better every 300-400 miles. I drive it rough so I expect it to be less if I was careful.

Truck runs like a top, but noticed my power isn't all there.

Gas mileage is okay.. But not great. Ordered a plenum repair kit.. But I was told if the oil fill up isn't sucking air when you put your palm on it (which it isnt) it's most likely toast rings.

I see a oily tint in my throttle body but can't get anything in there to see if it's pooled.

Before I spend a whole two days in this job.. Would you say this is my issue?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-18-2014, 02:10 AM
ReadRam
ReadRam is offline
All Star
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: fargo, n.d
Posts: 780
Default

You can plug the end of the breather hose and remove pcv from valve cover to see if there is vacuum or positive pressure at pcv hole. I think you would have to have a pretty bad leak to confirm this way.
Does it blow a puff of blue smoke after sitting overnight? That would indicate bad valve guide seals. Could be a combination of both. What's mileage? Add truck info to your signature.
Removing the throttle body would give you a better look into the corners of the intake. Four bolts to remove and a 2.00 gasket.
Compression test, wet and dry would give you some more info about worn rings.

Last edited by ReadRam; 03-18-2014 at 02:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-18-2014, 03:23 AM
Wildman4x4nut's Avatar
Wildman4x4nut
Wildman4x4nut is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Cle Elum, WA
Posts: 1,320
Default

Have you read this?
http://dodgeforum.com/forum/2nd-gen-...um-thread.html


Once you have and if you still have questions then come ask them. This is why this thread is here and is a sticky.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-18-2014, 12:35 PM
Brandontenold
Brandontenold is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 59
Default

Hmm Wow.. I always thought the rattling was a loose heat shield.. Seemed to go away if I played with the shield.. But maybe it was coincidence.. I seem to have all the symptoms so I guess I'll do the repair. I've also heard taking the plenum out will mess up the water pump.. Is it time for a waterpump replacement as well?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-18-2014, 01:07 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 41,483
Default

Plenum and waterpump are unrelated. You *can* do the water pump/timing chain at the same time, as you have to remove a lot of the same parts to do either job. (and, if you have a lot of miles on your truck, timing chain IS a good idea.)

But, don't expect doing the plenum to completely cure your oil consumption.... Reduce it? Sure, eliminate it? Only if you are really lucky.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-18-2014, 02:43 PM
Brandontenold
Brandontenold is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 59
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HeyYou View Post
Plenum and waterpump are unrelated. You *can* do the water pump/timing chain at the same time, as you have to remove a lot of the same parts to do either job. (and, if you have a lot of miles on your truck, timing chain IS a good idea.)


But, don't expect doing the plenum to completely cure your oil consumption.... Reduce it? Sure, eliminate it? Only if you are really lucky.
I don't have a problem with topping the oil off.. But I think three quarts every thousand miles is insane. I'd be happy with one quart every thousand, two thousand miles. I simply can't accept the fact I have blown rings.. Truck runs like a top. Starts good in the cold.. I'm shure a little wear is in them but I can't see it burning that much oil.. I've had freinds follow me and the only time it blows blue smoke is when I just sit on the gas pedal.. In gear or out of gear.. And it depends on the weather as well (contraction and expanding of plates?) But my friend has a dakota that does the same thing.. And it doesn't use any oil at all.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-18-2014, 03:00 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 41,483
Default

I was going thru a quart every 100 miles before I did the plenum, and the truck only smoked at startup..... after the plenum, I still go thru about a quart ever 200 miles or so.... and it still only smokes at start up.......
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-18-2014, 03:04 PM
Brandontenold
Brandontenold is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 59
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HeyYou View Post
I was going thru a quart every 100 miles before I did the plenum, and the truck only smoked at startup..... after the plenum, I still go thru about a quart ever 200 miles or so.... and it still only smokes at start up.......

Mine only seems to smoke on start up if I bump the key for a second and let off (used to starting newer dodges where you turn the key for half a second and it starts on its own) or if I try to start it with a low battery. Other than that it doesn't smoke at all. It runs really rich though, since I have a 180 thermostat in it.

I'm also looking into removing the death flash. I'm thinking dodges retardation of timing can also contribute to oil loss
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-18-2014, 03:25 PM
Ham Bone's Avatar
Ham Bone
Ham Bone is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Posts: 4,061
Default

Do a compression test and actually find put what your rings are at.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-18-2014, 03:50 PM
Brandontenold
Brandontenold is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 59
Default

After finding out dad doesn't have a tester, ( I found his next birthday gift) Did some calling around and found one. I'll check and find some marginal test numbers for the 360 and get back to you all. (Finally a good excuse to clean my plugs)
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
nickr519
2nd Gen Ram Tech
42
09-23-2015 10:33 AM
nickr519
2nd Gen Ram Tech
6
08-04-2015 05:00 PM
studders
2nd Gen Ram Tech
2
07-25-2015 07:02 PM
Dakotamax
2nd Gen Ram Tech
3
07-17-2015 10:18 AM
Turbojimmy
Dodge Caravan
4
07-13-2015 10:29 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:05 AM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send