Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 3rd Gen Ram Tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

2004 Ram 1500 Fuel Filter Change

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 08-26-2009, 11:27 AM
tcalcagno tcalcagno is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Vehicle: 2004 Dodge Ram 1500 QC 4WD HEMI
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 4
Default 2004 Ram 1500 Fuel Filter Change

Sorry Guys.. I'm a newbie... I am sure this has been discussed a hundred times in here somewhere but just couldn't find anything on the fuel filter.

Is the fuel filter for an 04 Ram 1500 QC HEMI in the fuel tank? If so, is this an easy replacement? or does it need to be done by a mechanic?

Thanks in advance for any help!
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-26-2009, 11:34 AM
Horseapples's Avatar
Horseapples Horseapples is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Vehicle: 04' HEMI 2 door SWB
Location: Shreveport Louisiana
Posts: 1,998
Default

The filter is indeed in the tank, and is designed to be a lifetime filter, unless you are having a malfunction that has to do with fuel pressure,Or got a tank of bad gas, just leave it alone.
__________________
Passin gas and haulin' ***!
Member: Over the Top Group
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-26-2009, 12:31 PM
tcalcagno tcalcagno is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Vehicle: 2004 Dodge Ram 1500 QC 4WD HEMI
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 4
Default

That is kind of what I have been finding on the net. Just trying to figure out why I seem to have a loss of performance. Had the injectors cleaned. Thought maybe it could be a fuel filter. Guess I will keep searching the web for other ideas.
Thanks for your help!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-26-2009, 01:56 PM
weedahoe's Avatar
weedahoe weedahoe is offline
Site Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Vehicle: 04 Dodge Ram QC
Location: South GA
Posts: 18,966
TrickedOut DodgeRam Weedahoe1977
Send a message via AIM to weedahoe Send a message via MSN to weedahoe Send a message via Yahoo to weedahoe
Default

I seriously doubt it will be the fuel filter. Like you said, keep looking. Do you have any codes lighting up?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-27-2009, 10:06 AM
tcalcagno tcalcagno is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Vehicle: 2004 Dodge Ram 1500 QC 4WD HEMI
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 4
Default

No, there aren't any codes lighting up. The truck just doesn't seem to be as peppy as before. Maybe it is just the 65K miles catching up with it. Maybe it is time for the CAI.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-27-2009, 12:33 PM
BEAR's Avatar
BEAR BEAR is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Vehicle: '05 1500 QC 5.7 HEMI
Location: REDNECK, USA
Posts: 1,523
Send a message via Yahoo to BEAR
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tcalcagno View Post
No, there aren't any codes lighting up. The truck just doesn't seem to be as peppy as before. Maybe it is just the 65K miles catching up with it. Maybe it is time for the CAI.
well dude, Have you done a tune up lately? Plugs,wires, air filter cleaning or change and clean the TB (throttle body). Those things can't hurt.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-27-2009, 12:54 PM
dirtydog's Avatar
dirtydog dirtydog is offline
Moderate User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Vehicle: 2008 Ram QC 4x4 BigHorn
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 10,877
Send a message via Yahoo to dirtydog
Default

^^^^+!. Plugs are rated for change every 30kmi. that is the biggest loss of power that people have reported as well as mileage. Don't go all out on Platinum plugs. Stockers are basic copper. That's all you want and need. If you aren't sure if they have been changed, then they probably haven't and I would assume just change them. Also, get some Lucas Fuel Injector cleaner and pour that in your gas tank. It's superb stuff!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-27-2009, 01:44 PM
dazed01 dazed01 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Vehicle: 08 trx4, 93 rx7
Location: killeen texas
Posts: 295
Send a message via Yahoo to dazed01
Default

From the amount of fuel pumps I've changed on dodge trucks I am probably going to throw one in after 100k miles just for maintenance lol.
__________________

08 trx4, 35" km2's on moto metal wheels, 2" level.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-27-2009, 03:25 PM
weedahoe's Avatar
weedahoe weedahoe is offline
Site Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Vehicle: 04 Dodge Ram QC
Location: South GA
Posts: 18,966
TrickedOut DodgeRam Weedahoe1977
Send a message via AIM to weedahoe Send a message via MSN to weedahoe Send a message via Yahoo to weedahoe
Default

well ive got a pump sitting out in the shop with your name on it.

Dog, what plugs do you recommend?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-27-2009, 06:43 PM
MikeHTally's Avatar
MikeHTally MikeHTally is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Vehicle: 2003 1500 QCSB Hemi 4x2
Location: N. Florida
Posts: 4,464
Default

NGK 5306s. Yep, and clean the TB. Plug wires may not be necessary yet. Depends on the mileage.
__________________
2003 1500 QC Hemi

2006 Chrysler 300C
2008 1/2 Mazda Speed3
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-28-2009, 10:09 AM
tcalcagno tcalcagno is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Vehicle: 2004 Dodge Ram 1500 QC 4WD HEMI
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 4
Default

This is all good advice my friends.. maybe I will knock back a few cold ones and spend a little quality time with the ole truck this weekend.
Thanks for the help!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-28-2009, 11:35 AM
dirtydog's Avatar
dirtydog dirtydog is offline
Moderate User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Vehicle: 2008 Ram QC 4x4 BigHorn
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 10,877
Send a message via Yahoo to dirtydog
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by weedahoe View Post
well ive got a pump sitting out in the shop with your name on it.

Dog, what plugs do you recommend?

Really, any copper plug will do. Copper is a great conductor so it's tough to screw the plugs up....lol Just make sure it's a plug thta fits your engine.

I ran strictly NGK coppers on my Mustang, but I had that custom tuned and you never want to change a plug once your properly tuned. Many guys ran Autolites and got the same results. With that said, There's nothing wrong with going NGK, Autolite or any major brand basic copper plug that costs $2.
I wouldn't get any Platinum tipped plugs or Iridium plugs. Going against manufacturer recomendations can cause problems. Without getting into too much depth. All 3 plugs burn differently. Well, they react differently in different situations to put it better. There'a a reason
1. yes because they are cheap.
2. copper provide a better spark with a smaller gap which allows less voltage to be sent to the plugs. being that Chrysler uses 16plugs means a lot of voltage is to be needed to fire all the plugs. Little is better in this case.

If you do decide to go with any Platinum plugs(generate less spark for the same gap because of materials that last longer or get splitfire plugs or whatever the case may be), THE GAP must be opened up more than the reccomended plug gap by the factory. So if the gap is suppose to be .044" A platinum plug should be run at .050-.052" to maintain the same spark as a copper. This doesn't mean that the vehicle can handle the higher voltage so that there isn't any spark blowout(blowout is when revving at higher rpms, there isn't enough voltage to keep the plug firing. Most cases this mean the gap is too large and needs to be reduced) Spark blowout is common in FI applications due to the higher pressures.

If you've heard the term, wider gap runs hotter??? That means more voltage is runing to the plug because of the gap. So essentially, a Platinum plug requires more voltage(wider gap) to make the same power as a copper plug.

Champion is the reccommended plug for Dodge/Chrysler Apps, but it's just the same as NGK or autolites IMO.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-07-2015, 09:40 PM
daddy mopar daddy mopar is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1
Default loss of power

changed fuel pump! now cant go over 2g rpm or it boggs and if i try to go over it wants to shut down but if im in park or nutruel it revs perfect.taking any info to as y my truck is doing this????
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-08-2015, 09:19 AM
weedahoe's Avatar
weedahoe weedahoe is offline
Site Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Vehicle: 04 Dodge Ram QC
Location: South GA
Posts: 18,966
TrickedOut DodgeRam Weedahoe1977
Send a message via AIM to weedahoe Send a message via MSN to weedahoe Send a message via Yahoo to weedahoe
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daddy mopar View Post
changed fuel pump! now cant go over 2g rpm or it boggs and if i try to go over it wants to shut down but if im in park or nutruel it revs perfect.taking any info to as y my truck is doing this????
Before you did that, did you test your fuel pressure at the port on the fuel rail to see what it was?
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 09:19 AM
 
 
 
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:08 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails