Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 3rd Gen Ram Tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Front Control Module (FCM)

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 08-26-2009, 10:11 PM
dude5285 dude5285 is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Vehicle: 2004 Ram 1500
Location: newbury,oh
Posts: 3
Default Front Control Module (FCM)

Ok im not sure if this is the right area to post this, but here is my problem i'll make it short. I got pulled over for Running lights being out, i thought ok no problem just a fuse. well nope check all of fuses and relays. All work fine. now i have the tail lamp relay has 3 hots. One hot should be grounded when i turn the switch on for park lamps, but does not. I have done a little searching and have found that the fcm grounds the park lamps so they come on. now if i run my own ground wire to relay lights work, but will not shut off till ground is broken. Now my question is has anyone else had same problems, and if so am i on the right track of the fcm Because its a $300 part and i would hate to be wrong on something i cant return. Oh yea its a 2004 Ram 1500 5.7Hemi Standard cab.
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-27-2009, 03:54 AM
abarmby's Avatar
abarmby abarmby is offline
Champion
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Vehicle: 03 Dodge Ram Hemi SLT sb QC 4x4
Location: North Eastern England
Posts: 2,793
Default

100% this is the Power distribution module........the fuse box to you and I.
This is a common issue and relates to the grounding path you mentioned, being corroded deep within the fuse box.
I did all you mentioned above and used a switched ground flying lead in my cab, to get the running lights working.
I eventually traced out all the gound and input paths to the running lights and discovered this fuse box problem.
Do a search on here and you will find several articles on this very subject.
I personally PM'd several members on here who were somewhat scepticle about the fuse box fix. However, when they changed them out, they all worked as has mine for over 3 years now.
This is still a $250+ part, but it will sort your problems for you.
Hope this helps and has saved you a lot of grief???
Al.
__________________
03 1500 Hemi SLT 4x4 QC sb DTT NGK Iridiums DMH K&N TMR delete ProComps torsion tweak Tints 20's Cooper LTZ Westins Xenon arches Raider tonneau Prinz LPG VSI system EBC brakes LTZ's 3" T304 exhaust 200psi viair 480c Kong train horns leather int 6000kHID&fogs fox box 2x12" dvd 2x9" monitors

Last edited by abarmby; 08-27-2009 at 03:56 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-27-2009, 05:49 AM
dude5285 dude5285 is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Vehicle: 2004 Ram 1500
Location: newbury,oh
Posts: 3
Default

ok so its not the Fcm then, its more then likely the fuse box its self. thats only a stealership part to i bet. called dealership 400 bucks for fusebox.

Last edited by dude5285; 08-27-2009 at 04:59 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-28-2009, 08:52 AM
abarmby's Avatar
abarmby abarmby is offline
Champion
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Vehicle: 03 Dodge Ram Hemi SLT sb QC 4x4
Location: North Eastern England
Posts: 2,793
Default

Yep.........that price sounds high though?
I paid about $270 back in May 2007 in Florida whilst on holiday there.
But, I guess with inflation your price might be right now?
I'd still shop around though.
I do remember at the time, that this part was on a nationwide backorder.
It sounds pricey, but it WILL fix your problem.
There is a way to re-jumper the fuse box to provide another dedicated earth return path I believe. However, I havent tried that but belive with a bit of thought, it can and has been done.
It might save you that $400???
Hope all this helps, and post up when you get things fixed.
Best of luck.
Al.
__________________
03 1500 Hemi SLT 4x4 QC sb DTT NGK Iridiums DMH K&N TMR delete ProComps torsion tweak Tints 20's Cooper LTZ Westins Xenon arches Raider tonneau Prinz LPG VSI system EBC brakes LTZ's 3" T304 exhaust 200psi viair 480c Kong train horns leather int 6000kHID&fogs fox box 2x12" dvd 2x9" monitors
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-28-2009, 09:01 AM
nim81's Avatar
nim81 nim81 is offline
Record Breaker
2002 Dodge Ram 1500
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Vehicle: 06 TRX4 QC HEMI
Location: fredericktown
Posts: 2,400
Default

try salvage yard or pick-n-pull or u-wrench-it.
maybe even www.car-part.com
__________________
Listen.. I would never hit you with an axe.. when you had skewers stabbed through your mouth. I would figure one or the other would be enough..
5.9L truck club founder (retired)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-29-2009, 12:38 AM
abarmby's Avatar
abarmby abarmby is offline
Champion
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Vehicle: 03 Dodge Ram Hemi SLT sb QC 4x4
Location: North Eastern England
Posts: 2,793
Default

That's a good idea nim81.
But just be careful your not putting in another faulty unit, as these babys corrode badley.
Al.
__________________
03 1500 Hemi SLT 4x4 QC sb DTT NGK Iridiums DMH K&N TMR delete ProComps torsion tweak Tints 20's Cooper LTZ Westins Xenon arches Raider tonneau Prinz LPG VSI system EBC brakes LTZ's 3" T304 exhaust 200psi viair 480c Kong train horns leather int 6000kHID&fogs fox box 2x12" dvd 2x9" monitors
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-28-2009, 07:43 PM
jay8833 jay8833 is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 23
Default

I'm having a similar issue. Have an '04 5.7 HEMI. Drivers side headlight only goes with low beams and passsenger side headlight only goes on with high beams. Also 3 out of the 4 blinker lights don't work. Checked all of bulbs with a meter and checked the fuses and relays. Parking, reverse lights and brake lights run fine. Looking at the Haynes wiring diagram all the lights with issues run through the forward control module or front control module (FCM). Paid close to $300 to the stealership and replaced, but still having the same issue. Do I have to re-flash it. Or does this problem also sound like a bad ground with the power distribution module? Any help would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-28-2009, 08:15 PM
eaglestorm eaglestorm is offline
Professional
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Utah
Posts: 228
Default

you can use a used pdc (fuse box) but not a fcm (ft controll module) fcm is the silver box on the pdc and they come seprate now not all pdc's have fcm's they like to change thing every year. so if your fuses box has a silver module on one end thats the fcm

Last edited by eaglestorm; 10-18-2009 at 04:52 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-18-2009, 04:35 PM
jay8833 jay8833 is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 23
Default

Update: I finally changed the power distribution center (fuse block) and it finally fixed all of my lighting issues. Apparently there is an issue with the chip boards inside the PDC that are known to corrode. I do not recommend getting one from an auto salvage since those will probably have the same corrosion issue.

There was nothing wrong with the FCM so I re-installed the old one. Unfortunately the dealership does not accept returns on any electronic components. Anyone interested in purchasing a front control module (FCM). Check out ebay links. I have a new one and used one. Part numbers are 56051036 and 56049681.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Dodge...#ht_500wt_1182

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Dodge...#ht_500wt_1182
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-21-2009, 06:33 PM
Graystar113's Avatar
Graystar113 Graystar113 is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Jay8833, I am having nearly identical issues with my 3500, only my headlamp faults are reversed. So you replaced the PDC, running your original FCM and everything was solved? I don't want to order the wrong part. I am going to call the stealership tomorrow. (not a cheap part).
__________________
-RG
2004 Ram 3500 Cummins Diesel Quad Cab Long Bed SRW 4x4 Auto
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:33 PM
 
 
 
Reply




Tags
02, 1500, 2005, 2008, control, dodge, fcm, fix, front, ground, lamps, location, module, park, ram, tail

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:26 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails