Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 3rd Gen Ram Tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Location of a o2 upstream oxygen sensor.

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 03-21-2010, 11:16 AM
catawissarocket catawissarocket is offline
Professional
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Vehicle: 05 Dodge 1500 quad cab/5.7 hemi
Location: pa
Posts: 136
Default Location of a o2 upstream oxygen sensor.

Hi, new here to the forum. i have a 05 ram 1500 with 5.7 hemi and i need to replace the 02 upstream oxygen sensor, where is that actually located in the exhaust? went bad afew months ago and got to apoint that the truck hesitates and stalled out on me the other day.. rpm up and down.. is it easy to replace? also is this only a dealership part or can i get one autozone or somewhere else? thanks guys in advance..
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-21-2010, 11:26 AM
shortburb shortburb is offline
Rookie
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Vehicle: 04 single cab short bed 4wd
Location: Denver CO
Posts: 53
Default

upstream is PRE cat


easy job. unplug the o2 and remove it

thread the new one in and plug it up

if its 4wd make sure it doesnt rub on the front driveshaft (driverside)
__________________
http://www.cosupermoto.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-21-2010, 11:32 AM
HemiLonestar's Avatar
HemiLonestar HemiLonestar is offline
Champion
2003 Dodge Ram 1500
My Garage
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Vehicle: 2003 Ram 1500 Lonestar Edition & 2006 Dodge Charger R/T
Location: MD
Posts: 2,825
Send a message via AIM to HemiLonestar Send a message via MSN to HemiLonestar Send a message via Yahoo to HemiLonestar
Default

You can get an O2 sensor at any auto parts store. I think in 04 they made them with 4 sensors, since there's 2 cats (2 before, 2 after). Someone will chime in to either support what I've said or refute it. My parts book says I should have 4 with 2 cats, but in reality (as in looking under the truck) I have only 2 with 1 cat. I recommend getting up in there and visually verifying it yourself before you buy anything. Hell, if you pull one down you can even get a part number off it.
__________________

2003 Ram 1500 QC Hemi Lonestar Edition "Big Red"
SRT-10 suspension
and rear, Superchips, AiRaid, Taylor shorties, McGaughy's shackles, Mopar Borla cat-back, SRT hood, TMR delete, Sonnax, Power Wire, Daytona lip, tow mirrors.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-21-2010, 03:01 PM
catawissarocket catawissarocket is offline
Professional
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Vehicle: 05 Dodge 1500 quad cab/5.7 hemi
Location: pa
Posts: 136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HemiLonestar View Post
You can get an O2 sensor at any auto parts store. I think in 04 they made them with 4 sensors, since there's 2 cats (2 before, 2 after). Someone will chime in to either support what I've said or refute it. My parts book says I should have 4 with 2 cats, but in reality (as in looking under the truck) I have only 2 with 1 cat. I recommend getting up in there and visually verifying it yourself before you buy anything. Hell, if you pull one down you can even get a part number off it.
Yea it has 4 sensors.two before and two after. i had it coded and they said it was a upstream sensor but i have to a call them tomorrow and ask if its the left or right side. it didn't state on the invoice which side. this was back in november when i had it checked so i hope it's still in their computer if not i'll have to replace both sides, i'm not paying again to throw it on a computer.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-21-2010, 04:35 PM
HemiLonestar's Avatar
HemiLonestar HemiLonestar is offline
Champion
2003 Dodge Ram 1500
My Garage
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Vehicle: 2003 Ram 1500 Lonestar Edition & 2006 Dodge Charger R/T
Location: MD
Posts: 2,825
Send a message via AIM to HemiLonestar Send a message via MSN to HemiLonestar Send a message via Yahoo to HemiLonestar
Default

It won't say which side, it will just say upstream sensor.
__________________

2003 Ram 1500 QC Hemi Lonestar Edition "Big Red"
SRT-10 suspension
and rear, Superchips, AiRaid, Taylor shorties, McGaughy's shackles, Mopar Borla cat-back, SRT hood, TMR delete, Sonnax, Power Wire, Daytona lip, tow mirrors.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-21-2010, 04:53 PM
Off_Road_Teacher Off_Road_Teacher is offline
Banned
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 7,759
Default

It tells you what side it is when it is the downstream sensor, so the code should tell you the same for the upstream. It will say something like sensor "2/2" where the first number tells the side and the second is up or downstream. Or it might be the other way around but it will tell you what side the code is for.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-21-2010, 05:28 PM
lxman1's Avatar
lxman1 lxman1 is offline
Multi-Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
2008 Dodge Ram 1500
 
Join Date: May 2008
Vehicle: 2008 QC Ram BigHorn Hemi
Location: Louisville, Ky
Posts: 9,016
Send a message via AIM to lxman1
Default

Yep, it will say bank 1 or 2 and upstream (between engine and cat) or downstream (after cat). Bank 1 is the side with cylinder #1. Bank 2 is the opposite. On GM and Dodge, Bank 1 is the driver side. On a Ford it is the passenger side.
__________________
2008 RAM 1500 Sunburst Orange BigHorn. 5.7L HEMI
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-21-2010, 05:51 PM
catawissarocket catawissarocket is offline
Professional
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Vehicle: 05 Dodge 1500 quad cab/5.7 hemi
Location: pa
Posts: 136
Default

That's what has me stumped, you think on the invoice it would say which side. maybe i'll just replace both and have it over with.. going to autozone tomorrow to pick both of them up. have off work so might as well do it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-21-2010, 06:46 PM
Markmm0000 Markmm0000 is offline
Professional
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: May 2009
Vehicle: 05 1500 5.7RCEB
Location: Mass south shore
Posts: 238
Default

autozone should be able to tell you what side is bad they do free scans rght
__________________
http://dodgeforum.com/forum/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=107733&dateline=12432  70969
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-21-2010, 06:49 PM
Off_Road_Teacher Off_Road_Teacher is offline
Banned
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 7,759
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by catawissarocket View Post
That's what has me stumped, you think on the invoice it would say which side. maybe i'll just replace both and have it over with.. going to autozone tomorrow to pick both of them up. have off work so might as well do it.
Replacing both can get expensive, especially if you go with the factory replacement part.
Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 06:49 PM
 
 
 
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:25 AM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails