Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 3rd Gen Ram Tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Instrument cluster not working

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 12-30-2010, 10:17 AM
jonathanjkb jonathanjkb is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Vehicle: 2004 Dodge Ram 1500 Quad Cab 2wd 4.7
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 13
Default Instrument cluster not working

Along with brake lights, door locks, and keyless entry. everything else works fine. I went thru all the relays and fuses and found nothing so i took it to Dodge. They are saying that the cluster is bad and it also controls the brake lights, door locks, etc? Does that make sense? I have another cluster that i am going to put in and see if that works since Dodge wants $900 for a new cluster. Any ideas from the pros?
Also, if the new cluster works, are there any recommendations for a company that can program the new cluster with the mileage?

Thanks
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
__________________
2004 2WD 4.7QC, 6" Rough Country Lift 35x13.5 Pro Comps on 20s. Flowmaster, G2 4:56 gears. Dual 7inch screen, 2 10" Infinity subs, CAI,
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-30-2010, 11:43 AM
dirtydog's Avatar
dirtydog dirtydog is online now
Moderate User
2008 Dodge Ram 1500
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Vehicle: 2008 Ram QC 4x4 BigHorn
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 10,828
Send a message via Yahoo to dirtydog
Default

Do a cluster check. Push and hold the trip button down while you insert your key in the ignition and turn to run(not start) position and then let go of the button. The guages should sweep and the lights should illumintae. IF nothing happens or anything fails to work, then it's your cluster. If everything works as it should, then it's not your cluster, but chances are..it's your cluster.
I replaced my cluster in my 2008. Was $321 w/tax so $900 is way out in left field. Book time is .7hrs to exchange a cluster. That's less than 1hr.
A different cluster isn't going to work the same. They are vin locked and will only have options to the vin number it locked itself to including mileage.
You need to buy a cluster from the dealer and they need to verify your mileage at the time of purchase. OInce the new cluster comes in you can swap them out yourselfs with NO dealer help and then return your old cluster back for the core charge. The dealer cannot even change the mileage. Must be a 3rd party that rebuilds the clusters.
You cannot have your mileage entered into any used cluster. There are specific laws that prevent that from happening. Only way is to buy a new cluster.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-31-2011, 06:14 PM
dp1500sport dp1500sport is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Default No instrument cluster, no power locks, no turn signal etc

I have a 2002 1500 sport. I noticed the following a few days ago: When I turned the key on, the red alarm light comes on, but no instrument cluster, no power locks, no turn signals, no brake lights & no interior lights. The headlights and taillights stay on (even with the switch in the off position) I had to let the truck sit for a couple days and the battery was dead on Friday morning. I pulled the battery out and charged it overnight. Now, the truck starts & runs fine, and still the same problem. The power windows work, but none of the above. I've checked all the fuses, and none are blown. I've tried the cluster test - but nothing happens. I just started to check the voltages at the fuse box, the first two readings were right at 8 volts, however the headlights and tail lights stay on and after just a few minutes the voltage drops down to 1-2. I've tried searching the forums and this thread seems to be the closest to my problem. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-01-2011, 12:20 PM
jonathanjkb jonathanjkb is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Vehicle: 2004 Dodge Ram 1500 Quad Cab 2wd 4.7
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 13
Default

I took my truck into Dodge and found that it was in fact the cluster. I tried a cluster from another truck and everything worked except the keyless entry. So now i either have to buy a new one or get the old one fixed.
__________________
2004 2WD 4.7QC, 6" Rough Country Lift 35x13.5 Pro Comps on 20s. Flowmaster, G2 4:56 gears. Dual 7inch screen, 2 10" Infinity subs, CAI,
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-02-2011, 08:22 AM
weedahoe's Avatar
weedahoe weedahoe is offline
Site Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Vehicle: 04 Dodge Ram QC
Location: South GA
Posts: 18,777
TrickedOut DodgeRam Weedahoe1977
Send a message via AIM to weedahoe Send a message via MSN to weedahoe Send a message via Yahoo to weedahoe
Default

Question - when you swapped IC from another truck, Im assuming you unplugged the old and plugged in the new right? Obviously the mileage was mismatched but did you get any CEL or DTC codes or anything else funky?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-02-2011, 10:43 AM
dp1500sport dp1500sport is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Default Remote Keyless Entry Module

When you did the cluster swap, did you swap the RKE module as well? Its my understanding that it's a separate module a little smaller than a cigarette pack that snaps onto the back of the ic. If you have your old ic you might check and see if that works for you. I just purchased a used ic off ebay the miles are within 10k of mine. After it arrives I'll try swapping them both out -the rke module and the cluster, and let you know how it goes. Of course this happes right in the middle of the biggest winter storm to hit my area in years...
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 10:43 AM
 
 
 
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:01 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails