1995-2000 Dodge Avenger The Dodge Avenger had smooth styling in addition to solid craftmanship. To this day you can find Dodge Avenger enthusiasts proud to show of their gems.

Tech stuff

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2007, 11:40 PM
rthegremlin2
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tech stuff

Can someone please post some basic tech info for new people like myself. For example, all the engines (4g63, 420a and what not), transmissions and what ever else would be helpful. I personally dont know what these engine codes are and would like to know. Maybe even the differences between the items/good and bad points, swappable parts from other vehicles? I am not new to cars, but I am new to the DC vehicles esp. the 4 and 6 cyl ones. It would be very helpful and very much appreciated.

Old 04-08-2007, 01:31 AM
bad venge
Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Tech stuff

I4, V6 CEL Codes

Old 04-08-2007, 01:34 AM
bad venge
Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator

Lowering Info

OK You want to lower your car , First off how do you drive it ....
Is the car a daily driver ?? or is it an all out show car??Is the car kitted??what are your local roads like??Snow and ice in the winter?? All of these will influence what type of lowering you might want ...
For a Daily driver I highly suggest a Drop spring , less maintenance/more reliable/Easier on the wallet
All out show car/kitted Think about coilovers or the Tiens for adjustability , ability to slam at shows
Bad local roads /big potholes/steep drives/roadkill galore think of a lesser drop or coilovers/tiens
Snow and ice in winter /think coilovers or tiens for ability to raise it back up for winter(will require alignment)

OK Now What do I need:
Lowering springs that WORK:
Eibach pro kit 1.8" drop settles to about a 2" drop
Suspension Techniques 1.3" drop settles to about 1.75" drop
Intrax 2" drop settles to around 3" drop or more
Dropzone 2" drop settles to 3" or more