1995-2000 Dodge Avenger The Dodge Avenger had smooth styling in addition to solid craftmanship. To this day you can find Dodge Avenger enthusiasts proud to show of their gems.

96 Venge Revving Low at stops?

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2009, 10:34 PM
joshua124
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 96 Venge Revving Low at stops?

Hey guys.. Had my 96 ES for just about 6 months now.. had all the belts replaced last month per mechanics recommendations..

Recently ( last week) i started to notice that when im coming to a stop.. just before i come to a complete stop.. the engine will rev extremely low.. like to the point were its just about to stall. but then it will go back to the normal under 1,000 rpm.The car has never actually stalled on me ( knock on wood it stays that way!) I know the car never did this before.. im just wondering whats possibly causing this and should i be worried?

If it is a problem, is it something i can fix my self? Im a noob when it comes to cars but im pretty good with fixing things..

Just spent 500 getting new tires this week.. so not looking forward to having to spending more as im on a limited budget to begin with.

also on a side note.. anyone know how i'd be able to get the interior cabin lights to work again. Like when you open the doors of the car at night the rear view mirror lights and the lights down by your feet are suposed to go on but they dont! The previous owner said it never worked for him either. I know the lights them selves Do work 100% because before i got an aftermarket starter/alarm installed i used the factory "alarm" and when i would lock the doors using the key fob, the lights inside would all flash signaling the alarm was on. N just to be clear all the lights for the guages, climate control and work. The light for the Shifter (P,R, N, D, 2 etc..) works SOMETIMES.. some days it works, some it doesn't.

Last edited by joshua124; 10-20-2009 at 10:47 PM.
Old 10-21-2009, 12:01 AM
master tech
Site Moderator & Tech