1st Gen Dakota Tech 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 1st Gen Dakota.

My '95 2WD won't start

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2012, 09:23 AM
grettawiley
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My '95 2WD won't start

Newbie here.

My '95 with 91,000 mi won't start. It cranks hard but won't fire. I hear a clicking (relay?) under the dash or hood when the key is in the run position. It ran great last night, but nothing this morning.

I'm only a little bit of a car guy when it comes to diagnostics, so any help is appreciated.

Thanks!

Jim

Old 01-29-2012, 11:19 AM
89newbie
Captain

Originally Posted by grettawiley
Newbie here.

My '95 with 91,000 mi won't start. It cranks hard but won't fire. I hear a clicking (relay?) under the dash or hood when the key is in the run position. It ran great last night, but nothing this morning.

I'm only a little bit of a car guy when it comes to diagnostics, so any help is appreciated.

Thanks!

Jim
What engine, where do you live was it cold last night? Could the fuel line be frozen? Turn the key on off,on off on then read the flashes where it says check engine. Once you have flash codes you can go to facs and check what it is telling you, may be wrong. Even a small thing can keep it from starting properly.

Old 01-29-2012, 03:14 PM
grettawiley

Not too terribly cold last night, but it was below freezing. (Southern Minnesota)

Thanks for the tips. I'm out of town for a few hours, but I'll check it tonight.

Any ideas are always appreciated!

Old 01-29-2012, 05:05 PM
festerw
Veteran

Same thing happened to me last week, listen for the fuel pump running when you turn the key and test for 12v at the coil connector. If the pump runs and you have 12v replace the coil.

Old 01-30-2012, 10:40 PM
grettawiley

Well, I replaced the coil and nothing changed. Cranking but no starting. What's next down the line?