1st Gen Dakota Tech 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 1st Gen Dakota.

Siggie30- 89' vert build

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2010, 11:22 PM
siggie30
Captain
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Cool Siggie30- 89' vert build with a 360

I just (literally) drove back from Nashville to south of Tampa in an 89' vert that I bought up there and wanted to get my thoughts down before I go to bed.
The vert has a good base (read- no rust), but will require some love as the previous owner was not very good about wiring, repairing etc. and I removed about everything that he did, because it was wrong or dangerous. This is the best rwd dodge vehicle that can accomodate.....

The 5.9l magnum base engine that I have been tinkering on for about 9 months (on and off). It has been berry honed, decked, magged etc. etc., I bought a 485/495 cam to go in. I am reusing the rods and pistons and any other thing that are within tolerance. I bought a holley 770 for it, although I think it is a bit much and will probably hurt torque more than anything. I am actively port matching an M1 intake. I have finished porting a set of SP commando heads (aluminum). I have the ancillaries like the alt, a distributor (non-ecu type), blah, blah, blah. So as you can see I am teetering at the cliff of going through the next phase......

I need the following info before I can start:
A: I am using stock type manifolds, so I assume all the pre-92 truck manifolds are the larger ones??? (I only ask as to not have to wrench off a set from a van only to find out they are incorrect), better models to choose from?
B: Will using the V6 exhaust put undue stress on the engine? (yes, I will eventually put a cat back on, but later)
C: Will the stock guages mate with the carb application well? I know the coolant temp will as will the amp, but the oil pressure is vexxing me at this time?
D: Can I definately use the magnum 360 oil pan (from a Ram) without modding?