Performance camshaft with stock ecu - DodgeForum.com

Go Back  DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Dakota > 1st Gen Dakota
Reload this Page > Performance camshaft with stock ecu
1st Gen Dakota '96 & Older Dakota's

Performance camshaft with stock ecu

Reply

 
 
  #1  
Old 03-15-2017, 11:28 PM
Bearclaw2009
Bearclaw2009 is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 9
Default Performance camshaft with stock ecu

I'm looking to do a V8 swap in my 95 Dakota. I'm pricing it all out to get a used motor and freshing it up with new gaskets and rebuilt heads and upgraded cam. I'm not going to go with an aggressive cam but one that is computer compliant according to the specs. My question is what do I do about the ECU so it will run correct. I've talked to jet and they can't do anything for it and superchips don't show chips for the obd1. Any advice on what to do for this would be very helpful.
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-16-2017, 02:46 AM
RalphP
RalphP is offline
Record Breaker
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Northwest Louisiana
Posts: 1,652
Default

Rewire to use a 1996 ECU, and get Flyin' Ryan to do it (since the 96 was OBDII).

Or trust that the ECU can self-correct.

Or find a good, used Mopar Performance ECU for a 1995 Dakota V8.

RwP
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-16-2017, 03:02 AM
Bearclaw2009
Bearclaw2009 is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 9
Default

What would it take to convert it to a 96 ECU
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-16-2017, 03:18 AM
RalphP
RalphP is offline
Record Breaker
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Northwest Louisiana
Posts: 1,652
Default

I haven't double checked, but at least the body harness; the ECU; and the inside wiring.

*looks at list*

Basically, ALL the wiring.

RwP
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-16-2017, 04:42 AM
Bearclaw2009
Bearclaw2009 is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 9
Default

Has anyone installed a cam on a stock ECU and can shed some light on what to do
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-21-2017, 12:21 AM
Bearclaw2009
Bearclaw2009 is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 9
Default

So I decided to just swap out the v6 for a 5.2 what ecu's can u use I have a 5speed so can I use a ECU for a auto or do I have to stick with a manual computer
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-21-2017, 07:08 AM
RalphP
RalphP is offline
Record Breaker
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Northwest Louisiana
Posts: 1,652
Default

You CAN, but it'll toss codes due to the overdrive and lockup solenoids not working. Since the 5 speed doesn't have them.

A 5.2 ECU from 1994 or 1995 should fit and work; all that's really needed wiring wise is the two extra wires for injectors 7 and 8.

You'll also need a V8 flywheel and fan shroud. And I'd recommend if the motor isn't a 1994/1995, you upgrade to the 1994/1995 fuel injectors.

RwP
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-21-2017, 01:19 PM
Bearclaw2009
Bearclaw2009 is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 9
Default

The motor is from a 99 1500 but it doesn't have a fuel rail or injectors or distributor
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-23-2017, 09:46 AM
Carl_S
Carl_S is offline
Amateur
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Thornton Colorado
Posts: 41
Default

Someone removed them ? Every salvage yard I go to, the first thing removed is the throttle body and intake. Fortunately I'm usually looking for other parts. keep us posted on how it works out. I'd love to have a v-8 in my 90 but it'd be too much work.
 
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-24-2017, 08:19 AM
volaredon
volaredon is offline
All Star
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 773
Default

motor itself is same from 92-03, sensors and injectors and whether it would have had EGR (or not) changes by year and California or Hi altitude (or not)
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 



Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Featured Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:38 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: