1st Gen Dakota Tech 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 1st Gen Dakota.

Heater Doesn't Blow Hot Air

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2017, 10:05 AM
Ruff16965
Professional
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Heater Doesn't Blow Hot Air

I have something of a mystery with my 1993 Dodge Dakota V6 3.9 liter. The air coming out of the vents is luke warm at best. I am not a mechanic by any stretch of the imagination, I have asked several people for thoughts and ideas, then I Google and compare symptoms. Thermostat and heater coil are the two most common answers, although I have also heard collapsed hose. I am not losing any coolant in either the radiator or the reserve, there has been a couple of times since I noticed that I am not getting hot air that I have driven 60-90 minutes straight and it is not overheating. I am going to get it pressure tested, then maybe have the thermostat replaced. However I am perplexed, nothing seems to fit the problem that I am having.

In March I lost a hose, 4AM heading out of Albuquerque, New Mexico, it had been blowing hot air and then went ice cold, I hit the side of the road and check it was blowing steam. A couple of hours to get a tow truck I got it the the shop, had the hoses replaced, new fluid and was back on the road. Used the heater several times without any problems, was as hot as normal. Since I have been in the Central valley of CA and it has been 85+ for several months I have not had to use it. Any thoughts on what I should check next? Flush the cooling system? That was suggested when the hose blew by the shop, but I was talking to my dad and he said that was not needed.

Thank you or any thoughts and ideas.

Old 12-15-2017, 10:19 AM
onemore94dak
Record Breaker
Received 131 Likes on 123 Posts