1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

How to improve MPG

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2008, 04:40 PM
sukhachima
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to improve MPG

Hi, I am new to the forum. I just got a 2002 Durango 4.7 liter 4 speed automatic. I am looking for simple ways to improve fuel economy. What would be 5 simple ways to improve MPG's without dropping a boat load of money into it? I know there are products out there like the tornado or the turbonator, but don't know anybody that's used them or even if they work or are a gimmick. I have heard K&N filters work, but haven't really heard anything else. I appreciate any responses.

Old 05-09-2008, 08:54 PM
mr_president
Default RE: How to improve MPG

i am not an expert by any means, but other then spending money on air intakes and exhausts and what not, the best way to improve your mpg in my opinion is just proper maintenance. You can invest in a K&N air filter, not going to be a significant amount of improvement, but will help some and will save you money on air filters in the long run. Also make sure you change your pvc valve (approx once a year or so), cheap and easy to swap, you can get one for 10 bucks or less. Changing spark plugs and wires, clean injectors, proper tire pressure. And the number one way isin the way you drive, driving like grandpa helps a lot haha. But remember you're driving a durango, no such thing as good gas mileage.

Old 05-09-2008, 11:09 PM
jeff66
Rookie