1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

ball joints on first gen durango

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2009, 07:05 PM
gargle
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ball joints on first gen durango

I own a first gen. durango. I think I heard durango's were recalled in the past for ball joint problems. I am asking if the ball joint recall was because the ball joints were weird, or because of the durango has issues with all ball joints? I am not a mechanic, so I am ignorant on these matters. Can someone enlighten me?

Old 12-21-2009, 07:23 PM
brad8266

The recall was because the ball joints were breaking on enough vehicles to warrant a recall. A ball joint snapping while driving can be very dangerous. If youre concerned have a mechanic take a quick look. If you decide to replace them they are easy to replace by doing it yourself, even with little mechanical experience.

Old 12-21-2009, 07:32 PM
rebelboy
Veteran

the balljoints themselves where faulty
week

Old 12-21-2009, 11:09 PM
hydrashocker
Hall Of Fame
Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts

The recall only covered 2000-2003 Durangos.

Old 12-22-2009, 01:00 AM
IndyDurango
Champion
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Correct... BUT!

All 1998-2003 Ds use the same BJs. In fact, the recall was requiring C, LLC to replace the BJs, not change the issue or replace with anything any better. Any dealer recall BJ job got the same BJs replaced albeit new ones verses the previous ones.

If you have a 98-99, replace the BJs NOW. If you have a 2000+ that hasn't been recalled, get that done NOW. If you have age on your recalled BJ replacements, have them reviewed for aftermarket replacement now. NONE of the factory BJs... original or recalled... are long life products.

My suggestion is to replace with aftermarket Moog BJs which are both better, stronger and greaseable.

IndyDurango

Old 12-22-2009, 01:47 PM
gargle
Default ordered some new moogs