1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

parking brake pedal too hard

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2012, 12:20 AM
otgarzā
Captain
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default parking brake pedal too hard

Just changed the shoes and drums on the truck...wheel cylinders, springs...all the good stuff. The deal is that now my parking brake is a little hard. Should i bleed the system or is it normal for that to happen. Its my first time doin the rear brakes on a monster like this.

Old 10-03-2012, 12:44 AM
cummingetit
Professional
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Parking brake should be mechanical, don't think bleeding will help. I don't recall exactly but there should be an adjustment on them. Could be the flat bar with what looks like a flat head nut on the ends (flat head as in it looks like you could turn it with a flat head screw driver). Did you have to cram the drums on or did they slip on easily?

Posted from Dodgeforum.com App for Android

Old 10-03-2012, 05:10 PM
shrpshtr325
THE ULTI-MOD
Received 33 Likes on 31 Posts

the parking brake is mechanical bleeding will not help.

if the drums are not dragging and are actuating properly the most likely explanation is that the parking brake was WAY loose before you did the change and now it feels like it should

Old 10-03-2012, 07:12 PM
MontyJ
Rookie

Originally Posted by otgarzā
Just changed the shoes and drums on the truck...wheel cylinders, springs...all the good stuff. The deal is that now my parking brake is a little hard. Should i bleed the system or is it normal for that to happen. Its my first time doin the rear brakes on a monster like this.
If you changed the wheel cylinders, I would hope that you already bled the system. But, as the others said, the stiffer parking brake pedal would be expected.

Old 10-03-2012, 08:59 PM
otgarzā
Captain